Meeting date: September 12th, 2022

Time: 2:30 pm

Location: Held via Zoom

Members in attendance:

- Chandra Yelleswarapu, Physics, Chair
- Daniel Dowling, Chemistry, Associate Chair
- Karla Schallies, Biology, Secretary
- Catherine McCusker, Biology
- Glover (Trei) Martin, Biology
- Jonathan Rochford, Chemistry
- Kellee R Siegfried-Harris, Biology
- Kenneth Fletcher, Computer Science
- Kourosh Zarringhalam, Mathematics
- Maureen Title, Mathematics
- Maxim Olchanyi, Physics
- Michael Rahaim, Engineering
- Mridula Satyamurti, Chemistry
- Nurit Haspel, Computer Science
- Oleg Lazarev, Mathematics
- Tiago Cogumbriero, Computer Science
- Aidan Remington, Mathematics, Undergraduate Student Representative
- Eric Steele, Physics, Graduate Student Representative

Member(s) absent:

• Moriah Roache, Physics

Others in attendance:

- Robin Côté, Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics
- Alexia Pollack, Associate Dean, CSM Dean Office Representative

The meeting was called to order at 2:31 pm.

- Robin Côté, Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics, welcomed the CSM Senate member to the meeting, thank them for time and dedication to the CSM Senate, and gave the opening remarks to the meeting.
- 2. A motion to approve the agenda for this meeting was seconded and approved unanimously.
- A motion to approve the May 9th, 2022, meeting minutes was seconded and approved unanimously.
- 4. Announcements
 - Changes to CSM Senate members for the Fall 2022 semester were needed due to time conflicts. The changes are as follow:
 - Steven Jackson, Mathematics, was elected as the Associate Chair and to be part of the Executive Committee during the May CSM Senate meeting, but he will be replaced by Daniel Dowling, Chemistry, during the Fall 2022 semester.
 - Kourosh Zarringhalam will be substituting Steven Jackson, Mathematics, during the Fall 2022 semester.
 - Nurit Haspel, Computer Science, will be substituting Joel Fish, Mathematics, during the Fall 2022 semester.
 - Catherine McCusker, Biology, will be substituting Katherine Gibson, Biology, during the Fall 2022 semester.
 - Kenneth Fletcher, Computer Science, has returned as an active member of the CSM Senate.
 - Yusuf Mustopa, Mathematics, will be substituting Glover (Trei) Martin, Biology, during the Fall 2022 semester.

- Alexia Pollack, Associate Dean, will be participating in the CSM Senate meetings as the CSM Dean Office Representative
- In September 2020, the Mathematics Department requested the approval of the change of the course descriptions of the 100 level courses. All of the materials was shared at the time and some clarifications were requested. Since then, some courses have been completely approved, some partially approved pending some changes requested. If any current members would like to see the materials provided, let Chandra Yelleswarapu, Physics, know and he will share them.
- 5. New business
 - The CPC members for the academic year 2022-2023 were approved by the CSM Senate members.
- 6. Dean's office remarks
 - None
- 7. Other Businesses
 - The Academic Affair Committees is trying to fill empty seats with new members.
 - During open discussion, CSM Senate members mentioned the topics below to be discussed on future meetings.
 - The final draft of the CSM Senate By-Laws and CSM Senate committees is still pending to be discussed. CSM Senate members can access the link below to provide feedback to the current working draft: <u>Link to the draft</u>.
 - Discussion on how to recruit members for each CSM Senate committee is pending for a later time.

Meeting adjourned at 2:52 pm.