Faculty & Staff

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Randy Albelda
Graduate Program Director and Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6963
Randy.Albelda@umb.edu

Expertise: Public Policy, Economics of Taxation, Labor Economics, Political Economy of Gender and Race

Michael Carr
Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6960
Michael.Carr@umb.edu

Expertise: Labor Economics, Behavioral Economics, Workplace Democracy

Anne Fitzpatrick
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6950
Anne.Fitzpatrick@umb.edu

Expertise: Health Economics, Development Economics, Program Evaluation

Keren Horn
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.4786
Keren.Horn@umb.edu

Expertise: Urban Economics, Housing Economics, Economics of Education, Affordable Housing Policy, Residential and School Choice

Janis Kapler
Department Associate Chair and Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6955
jk.kapler@umb.edu

Expertise: International Trade and Finance, Open-Economy Macroeconomics, Transnational Corporations

Marlene Kim
Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6954
marlene.kim@umb.edu

Expertise: Discrimination and the working poor

Yun K. Kim
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6959
Yun.Kim@umb.edu

Expertise: Macroeconomics, Post Keynesian Economics, Monetary Economics

Charalampos Konstantinidis
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6984
konstantinidis@umb.edu

Expertise: Political Economy , Ecological Economics , History of Economic Thought , Economic Development , Macroeconomics

Adugna Lemi
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6962
adugna.lemi@umb.edu

Expertise: International Trade and Finance, Multinational Corporations, Development Economics, International Political Economy, Poverty and Income Dynamics

Sripad Motiram
Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6973
Sripad.Motiram@umb.edu

Expertise: Development Economics, Welfare Economics, Political Economy, Applied Econometrics

Julie A. Nelson
Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6925
julie.nelson@umb.edu

Expertise: Gender and economics; philosophy and methodology of economics; ecological economics; quantitative methods

Guy Numa
Assistant Professor of Economics, Economics Department and Honors College

617.287.5520
Guy.Numa@umb.edu

Expertise: History of Economic Thought, Monetary Economics, Microeconomics, Industrial Organization, Caribbean Political Economy

Andrew Perumal
Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6957
Andrew.Perumal@umb.edu

Expertise: Econometrics and Statistical Computing, with applications in: Urban & Regional Economics, Labor Economics, and Economic Education

David Terkla
Professor of Economics and Dean, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6500
david.terkla@umb.edu

Expertise: Environmental and Natural Resource Economics, Public Finance, Regional Economic Development

David Timmons
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6945
david.timmons@umb.edu

Expertise: Environmental and ecological economics, Urbanization environmental impacts, Renewable energy economics, Local food systems

Emily Wiemers
Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6966
Emily.Wiemers@umb.edu

Expertise: Household Behavior and Family Economics, Labor and Demographic Economics, Economics of Health and Aging

Lecturers and Visitors

Siddiq Abdullah
Senior Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

508.740.3785
siddiq.abdullah@umb.edu

Expertise: Industrial Organization, Money and Finance

Nurul Aman
Senior Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6951
nurul.aman@umb.edu

Expertise: Money and Finance, Information Economics, and Knowledge Management Economics

Kevin L. Carlson
Senior Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6986
kevin.carlson@umb.edu

Expertise: Microeconomics, Industrial Organization

Jennifer Clifford
Lecturer II in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

781.405.8442
Jennifer.Clifford@umb.edu

Expertise: Environmental Economics, Food and Water Resources, Economic Valuation and Economic Incentives.

Dave Danning
Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6953
david.danning@umb.edu

Expertise: Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Theories of Distributive Justice

Ellen Frank
Lecturer I in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6979
ellen.frank@umb.edu

Expertise: Macroeconomic Policy, Financial Institutions, State and Local Fiscal Issues, Retirement Security, Austerity Policies

Phillip Granberry
Lecturer II in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.331.6942
Phillip.Granberry@umb.edu

Expertise: Social Capital, International Migration, Urban Economics

Ahmed Hashmiwu
Visiting Assistant Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6950
Ahmed.Hashmiwu@umb.edu

Expertise: Macroeconomics, Monetary and Fiscal Policy Analysis, Open Economy Macroeconomics

Barbara McGonagle
Lecturer I in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6953
barbara.mcgonagle@umb.edu

Expertise: Elderly poverty issues

Jon Millman
Senior Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6968
jon.millman@umb.edu

Expertise: Microeconomics, History of Thought, Methodology, Marxist Economics

Robert Reinauer
Associate Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6951
robert.reinauer@umb.edu

Expertise: Economic Development, Gender and Development, Latin American Studies, Political Economy, Macro/International Economics

Joanne Spitz
Senior Lecturer in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.592.5724
spitzy@aol.com

Expertise: Microeconomics, Economics of Crime, and Sports Economics

Emeritus Faculty

Catherine Lynde
Associate Professor (retired) of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

contact by email
catherine.lynde@umb.edu

Expertise: Macroeconomic Policy, Productivity Growth, Public Capital

Arthur MacEwan
Senior Research Fellow, Center for Social Policy

617.287.6950
arthur.macewan@umb.edu

Expertise: Inequality and Poverty, Economic Development, Macroeconomics, Economics of Education, International Affairs

Mary Huff Stevenson
Professor Emerita of Economics
College of Liberal Arts

N/A
mary.stevenson@umb.edu

Expertise: Urban Public Policy, Urban Poverty and Labor Market Problems, Economic Status of Women, Development of Urban Public Institutions.