Faculty & Staff

The department's rich academic program reflects the composition of its faculty, which includes historians of literature and art, theoretical and applied linguists, and social scientists. The faculty are committed to bringing into the classroom their knowledge and research experience in their respective fields and offering students a solidly grounded yet innovative curriculum centered on the most significant features of the Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking worlds.

Faculty

Dora Alvarez
Lecturer, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7553
dora.alvarez@umb.edu

Patricia Anderson
Senior Lecturer in Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.7558
Patti.Anderson@umb.edu

Expertise: Medieval Castilian Literature; ideological and social complexities of the vox feminae

Maria Athanassiou
Associate Lecturer in Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617.287,7558
Maria.Athanassiou@umb.edu

Juliana Berte
Senior Lecturer, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7550
Juliana.Berte@umb.edu

Expertise: Hispanic Linguistics

Nayelli Maria Castro-Ramirez
Assistant Professor, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617.287.7552
nayelli.castro@umb.edu

Expertise: Translation Studies

Chaiwut Chittkusol (Joe)
Senior Lecturer, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American and Iberian Studies

617.287.7549
Chaiwut.Chittkusol@umb.edu

Expertise: Don Juan, Don Quijote and Marginal Sexualities in Early 20th Peninsular Literature

Patricia Chouinard
Senior Lecturer II, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American and Iberian Studies

617.287.7550
Patty.Chouinard@umb.edu

María Inés Cisterna Gold
Associate Professor, Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-7557
Maria.Cisterna@umb.edu

Reyes Coll-Tellechea
Professor, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7555
Reyes.Coll-Tellechea@umb.edu

Expertise: Literature & Society, 16th Century Spain, Literary History, History of the Book, Bibliography

Susana Domingo Amestoy
Assistant Professor, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7556
susana.domingo@umb.edu

Expertise: 20th- and 21st-century Latin American and Spanish cinema; contemporary fiction; transatlantic studies

Susan Gauss
Chair, Associate Professor of Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.7559
Susan.Gauss@umb.edu

Expertise: Modern Mexican History

Isabel Gómez
Assistant Professor of Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.7554
Isabel.Gomez@umb.edu

Expertise: Translation studies, translation theories, Latin American poetics, comparative literatures Mexican and Brazilian vanguards and contemporary literatures, transhistorical baroque

Nino Kebadze
Associate Professor, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American and Iberian Studies

617.287.7551
Nino.Kebadze@umb.edu

Expertise: 20th-century Spanish literature, post-war romance fiction, film, writing of memory and exile

Diego Mansilla
Lecturer in Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.7549
Diego.Mansilla@umb.edu

Expertise: Translation pedagogy, online education, professional translation

Anna Mester
Assistant Professor, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American and Iberian Studies

617.287.4137
Anna.Mester@umb.edu

Expertise: Afro-Luso-Brazilian Studies, Lusophone and Hispanophone Africa, Decolonization, Carceral Studies, Iberian Imperialisms, Atlantic Studies, History of Ideas

Susan Mraz
Director of Online Spanish / Senior Lecturer II, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7553
susan.mraz@umb.edu

Expertise: Foreign Language Pedagogy / Technology in the Classroom

Mark Schafer
Senior Lecturer, Latin American and Iberian Studies, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.7549
Mark.Schafer@umb.edu

Expertise: Spanish, Literary Translation, Translation Studies

Emeritus Faculty

Clara Estow
Professor Emerita, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7550
clara.estow@umb.edu

Esther Torrego
Professor Emerita, College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7554
Esther.Torrego@umb.edu

Expertise: Linguistic theory, Spanish Linguistics, comparative syntax of the Romance languages

Retired Faculty

Ildefonso Manso
Retired: College of Liberal Arts, Latin American & Iberian Studies

617-287-7550
Ildefonso.Manso@umb.edu

Caetano Valadao Serpa
Retired

617-287-7550
caetano.serpa@umb.edu

Expertise: Portuguese Language and Culture