Academics

About the Program

*Students can also enroll in any of the courses not taken to fulfill a requirement.

Requirements for the minor:
Required Courses
(1)  AMST 201:  Latin@s in the US
(2)  AMST 353:  Latin@ Border Cultures
(3) One of the following:
      SOC 322      Latin@ Boston
      SOC 321      Race and Ethnic Relations
      ANTH 277   Contemporary US Immigration

Course Offerings*
(or quotes from evaluations and minors)

AMST 201
Latin@s in the U.S. 
AMST 353
Latin@ Border Cultures
AFRSTY / AMST 350L
Race, Class and Gender: Issues in US Diversity
SOCIO 321
Race and Ethnic Relations
SOCIO 322
Latin@ Boston
ANTH 277
Immigration in the United States
PHIL 232
Race and Multiculturalism
WOST 225
Latinas in the U.S.

Current Faculty:
Lorna Rivera, PhD
Associate Professor of Women's Studies, College of Liberal Arts
Director, Latino Studies Program
Telephone: 617-287-7388
Email: Lorna.Rivera@umb.edu
Office Location: W-5-004A

Jorge Capetillo-Ponce, PhD
Associate Professor of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
Acting Chair, Latino Studies Program
Telephone: 617.287.6284
Fax: 617.287.6288
Email: Jorge.Capetillo@umb.edu
Office Location: Wheatley Hall,04,00025

Rosalyn Negrón, PhD
Assistant Professor of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
Telephone: 617-287-6812
Email: Rosalyn.Negron@umb.edu
Office Location: McCormack Hall,04,00441

Glenn Jacobs, PhD
Professor of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
Telephone: 617-287-6262
Fax: 617-287-6288
Email: glenn.jacobs@umb.edu
Office Location: Wheatley Hall,04,00005

Tim Sieber, PhD
Professor of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
Telephone: 617-287-6853
Email: Tim.Sieber@umb.edu
Office Location: McCormack Hall,04,00437

Luis Aponte-Parés, PhD
Associate Professor of Community Development and Planning,
College of Public and Community Service
Telephone: 617.287.7286
Email: luis.aponte@umb.edu
Office Location: W-4-144-10

Marisol Negrón, PhD
Assistant Professor of American Studies and Latin@ Studies, College of Liberal Arts
Telephone: 617.287.6673
Email: Marisol.Negron@umb.edu
Office Location: Wheatley Hall,05,00100

Raul Ybarra, PhD
Assistant Professor of Writing Program, College of Public and Community Service Language, Literature, and Rhetoric, Professional Writing in Public and Community Service
Telephone: 617-287-7158
Email: Raul.Ybarra@umb.edu
Office Location: Wheatley Hall, 04, 144/22

Miren Uriarte, PhD
Professor of Human Services, College of Public and Community Service Senior Research Associate at the Mauricio Gastón Institute for Latino Community Development and Public Policy
Telephone: 617.287.7237
Email: miren.uriarte@umb.edu
Office Location: Wheatley Hall, 3rd Floor, Room 15417

Picture of student shaking a woman's hand

Find a Job, Internship, or Co-Op

Whether you’re still in college, making a mid-career switch, or looking to hire, the Career Services and Internships department is here to help. Read More 


Why UMass Boston?

Robert Carter works in one of UMass Boston’s chemistry labs.

Robert Carter

Chemistry Department Chairman; BA, College of Wooster; PhD, University of Kansas

“Our caring faculty really does have the success of our students at heart.”

Read More ›

Giving to UMass Boston

Support the creation of new knowledge in Latino Studies and its benefit to Latino communities in greater Boston and New England.


Give Now