Undergraduate Programs

The Department of Political Science offers a variety of course options in the study of politics to prepare students for both professional success and informed, engaged citizenship in our increasingly globalized world. The department's course offerings are organized into:

  • Major in Political Science
  • Minor in Political Science
  • Major in International Relations
  • Minor in International Relations
  • Minor in Public Policy

The department has 13 core faculty members. Their research and teaching together span all four major subfields of political science:

  • Political theory and philosophy
  • American politics
  • Comparative politics
  • International relations

In the study of politics, our concern is both practical and evaluative:

  • We endeavor to acquire reliable facts and sound analytic concepts so as to evaluate political phenomena confidently and carefully.
  • We analyze local, national, and international issues and institutions.
  • We draw on current data, historical studies, and theoretical approaches.
  • We attempt to formulate standards for the appraisal of political life and the performance of institutions
  • We strive to impress upon students that politics touches on virtually every aspect of a person's existence

Thus, we are not merely concerned with understanding how societies are governed but also with the consequences for human welfare of various political structures, processes, and beliefs.

We hope thereby to assist in some way in the perennial quest of men and women for a just, compassionate, and responsible political order.