Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Tahirah Abdullah
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.7026
Tahirah.Abdullah@umb.edu

Expertise: Mental health among African Americans; mental illness stigma; culture, identity and mental health in African Americans; barriers to help-seeking for mental health problems

Jane Adams
Department Chair of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6346
jane.adams@umb.edu

Expertise: Environmental alterations in brain development and function; Neurobehavioral teratology - the influence of prenatal insult upon brain development and behavior

Erik Blaser
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6420
Erik.Blaser@umb.edu

Expertise: Visual psychophysics

Alice Carter
Professor, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6375
Alice.Carter@umb.edu

Expertise: Identification of infants and toddlers at risk for problems in social, behavioral, and emotional functioning; the role of family functioning in child development

Vivian Ciaramitaro
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6316
Vivian.Ciaramitaro@umb.edu

Expertise: Cognitive Neuroscience, Attention and Sensory Development, Neuroimaging

Sheree Dukes Conrad
Senior Lecturer II in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6371
sheree.conrad@umb.edu

Expertise: Trauma and Dissociation, Media Effects, Intimate Partner Violence, Group Dynamics

Randy Corpuz
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6369
Randy.Corpuz@umb.edu

Expertise: Evolution and human behavior, developmental psychology, social neuroscience

Nickki Pearce Dawes
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6324
Nickki.Dawes@umb.edu

Expertise: Youth Development in Extra-curricular Activities and Out-of-School Time, Children and Adolescent Well Being

S. Tiffany Donaldson
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6429
tiffany.donaldson@umb.edu

Expertise: Brain changes underlying psychostimulant abuse; the female body’s natural response to pain, immediately preceding pregnancy and during delivery

Tracy Dunne
Lecturer I in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6350
tracy.dunne@umb.edu



Abbey Eisenhower
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6334
abbey.eisenhower@umb.edu

Expertise: Child Clinical Psychology, Developmental Psychopathology, Early School Adjustment, Treatment Outcome Research

Susanna Gallor
Lecturer in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6350
Susanna.Gallor@umb.edu

Expertise: Multicultural Psychology

Sarah Hayes-Skelton
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6303
sarah.hayes@umb.edu

Expertise: clinical psychology; cognitive-behavioral and acceptance and mindfulness treatments of anxiety; treatment processes and mechanisms

Richard Hunter
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.3198
Richard.Hunter@umb.edu

Expertise: Neuroendocrinology, Neuropharmacology, Neurobiology of Stress and Epigenetics

Zsuzsa Kaldy
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6393
Zsuzsa.Kaldy@umb.edu

Expertise: Early development of visual attention and visual working memory in humans

Kathryn Kogan
Senior Lecturer II in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6424
Kathryn.Kogan@umb.edu

Expertise: Addictive disorders, Impact of Chronic Illness, Adult Psychotherapy, Group Psychotherapy

Heidi Levitt
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6350
heidi.levitt@umb.edu

Expertise: Psychotherapy process and outcome -- with a focus upon common factors across psychotherapy orientations; Gay, Lesbian, bisexual, and transgender minority stress and cultural identities; and qualitative research methods.

Joan Liem
Special Assistant to the Provost

617.287.6364
Joan.Liem@umb.edu

Expertise: Adolescent to young adult transition among at risk youth

Michael Milburn
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6355
michael.milburn@umb.edu

Expertise: Political psychology: political attitudes, the role of emotion in public opinion, and the effects of the mass media on political attitudes and social behavior

Steve Millman
Lecturer in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6350
Steve.Millman@umb.edu



Celia Moore
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6362
celia.moore@umb.edu

Expertise: Developmental Psychobiology; Behavioral Neuroscience; Hormones and Behavior; Sexual Differentiation

Paul Nestor
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6387
paul.nestor@umb.edu

Expertise: Clinical Neuropsychology; Forensic Psychology; Attention in Schizophrenia; Violence and Psychosis

David Pantalone
Director of the Clinical Psychology Doctoral Program & Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6353
David.Pantalone@umb.edu

Expertise: Clinical health psychology; HIV/AIDS prevention and treatment; substance abuse; LGBT health and mental health; cognitive behavior therapy; dialectical behavior therapy

Jin Ho Park
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6489
jinho.park@umb.edu

Expertise: Behavioral neuroendocrinology, reproductive behavior and physiology, behavioral genetics, behavioral neuroscience

Marcus Patterson
Lecturer II in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6350
Marcus.Patterson@umb.edu



Jean Rhodes
Frank L. Boyden Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6368
Jean.Rhodes@umb.edu

Expertise: mentoring relationships, risk and protective factors in adolescent development, emerging adulthood, preventive interventions

Lizabeth Roemer
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6358
Lizabeth.Roemer@umb.edu

Expertise: Anxiety Disorders, Cognitive-Behavioral Treatments, Mindfulness and Acceptance

Tracey Rogers
Lecturer in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6350
Tracey.Rogers@umb.edu

Expertise: Adult Psychotherapy

Ester Shapiro
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6360
Ester.Shapiro@umb.edu

Expertise: Clinical psychology; family life cycle transitions; family development

Mohinish Shukla
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-4000
mohinish.shukla@umb.edu

Expertise: Developmental cognitive linguistics and neuroimaging

Karen Suyemoto
Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6370
karen.suyemoto@umb.edu

Expertise: Clinical Psychology; Asian American Studies; Mental health and identity in Asian Americans; Empowerment and resisting racism; Community and educational initiatives for social justice

Edward Tronick
Distinguished University Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6374
Edward.Tronick@umb.edu

Expertise: Developmental Psychology and Neurophysiology

Laurel Wainwright
Senior Lecturer II in Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6376
Laurel.Wainwright@umb.edu

Expertise: Neuropsychological, social and educational aspects of children diagnosed with Autism Spectrum disorders; coping in families with children diagnosed with ASD.

Rhiana Wegner
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6355
Rhiana.wegner@umb.edu

Expertise: intimate partner and sexual relationship communication and behavior

Keith M. Welker
Assistant Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6392
Keith.Welker@umb.edu

Expertise: Social Psychology, Social Neuroendocrinology, Quantitative Psychology

Susan Zup
Associate Professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6319
Susan.Zup@umb.edu

Expertise: Neuroscience; Behavioral Neuroendocrinology; how hormones alter the developing brain; sex differences in brain, behavior and disease.