Healey Library

at the University of Massachusetts Boston

Archives and Special Collections

Announcements

  • University Archives and Special Collections is open for onsite research Monday – Friday, 10:00 am to 4:00 pm. Please contact library.archives@umb.edu to schedule an appointment or to request reference assistance, and consult our online collections and Finding Aids at http://OpenArchives.umb.edu

The mission and history of the university guide the collecting activities of University Archives and Special Collections. The department gathers material that is complementary to our neighboring archival institutions, the Massachusetts State Archives, and the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum.

The university's urban mission and strong support of community service is reflected in the department's collections of records of urban planning, social action, alternative movements, and community organizations. Additionally, the location of the campus in the Dorchester section of Boston has prompted the department to make available sources for the study of Dorchester history.

The University Archives and Special Collections Department has assumed curatorial responsibility for the material acquired by the university's William Joiner Center for the Study of War and Social Consequences that relate to the study of the Vietnam War.

Selected Collections

Hours

The University Archives and Special Collections Department, located on the fifth floor of the Healey Library, is open to the public. It is highly recommended that you call 617.287.5469 to make an appointment, as hours can vary. 

Contact

617.287.5469
library.archives@umb.edu

STAFF

  • Joanne Riley

University Archivist

617.287.5927

joanne.riley@umb.edu

  • Meghan Bailey

Processing Archivist

617.287.5946

meghan.bailey@umb.edu

  • Andrew Elder

Digital Archives and Outreach Librarian

617.287.5944

andrew.elder@umb.edu

  • Jessica Holden

Archival Reference and Processing Librarian

617.287.5469

Jessica.Holden@umb.edu

  • Carolyn Goldstein

Public History and Community Archives Program Manager

617.287.5929

carolyn.goldstein@umb.edu

  • Patricia L. Bruttomesso

​Archival Collections Project Manager

617.287.7696

patricia.bruttomesso@umb.edu


Connect