The Lili Boulanger Memorial Fund

at the University of Massachusetts Boston

Current Winner

The nominators for the 2015 composition competition were Ross Bauer, James Primosh, Frederic Rzewski, David Schiff, and Richard Wilson.
Andy Akiho was born in 1979 in Columbia, South Carolina, and graduated from the University there with a Bachelor of Music in performance. He then obtained master of music degrees from the Manhattan School of Music and the Yale School of Music, and is currently working for the PhD in composition at Princeton University. His compositions have been performed by the New York Philharmonic CONTACT! series, the ACJW Ensemble of Carnegie Hall, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and under the auspices of the American Composers Forum, Bang on a Can, and the Society for New Music. Last year he was awarded an Underwood Emerging Composers Commission for the American Composers Orchestra and a chamber Music Grant with the Friction Quartet. His debut recording, No One to Know One (Innova Records), involves manipulations of rhythm and timbre with the steel pan, which is his primary instrument.