4th Annual CIO Award for Excellence

Information Technology | July 23, 2012
4th Annual CIO Award for Excellence

Please join me in congratulating Gene Shwalb as the winner of the 4th Annual CIO Award for Excellence.

A senior instructional designer in the Educational Technology group, Gene’s colleagues cited his “tireless work and development of best practices for teaching and learning online.” They also noted his mentoring abilities. He is patient and thoughtful. He gives his time without reservation.” Gene’s work with Quality Matters was also called out, noting that he was the first member of the LMS team to explore the Quality Matters standards for online course design and was himself the first LMS designer to become certified as a Quality Matters reviewer. I’m very pleased to recognize Gene’s many contributions to ITSD’s success and the success of UMass Boston.

I would also like to congratulate all of the nominees for this award. I consider it a very high honor to be singled out for recognition by your colleagues who know your work so well. It gave me great pleasure to read all of the nominations.

  • Scott DeVillafane 
  • Jessica Downa
  • Marla Filoso
  • Robert Fitzgerald
  • Ellinor President
  • Keith Pyle

Finally, I would like to offer my thanks to Salina Allen-Sharpp and the members of the CIO award review committee for their time and effort in reviewing the nominations and making recommendations to me. Linda Modiste Caroline Cappuccio Brian Butler (last year’s recipient) Raymond Tse, Kim Miller, Anna Seyedhassani.  Again, congratulations to Gene and to all the nominees and thank you for everything you do to support UMass Boston.

Comment on this story

Comments (0)