Campus Notes for The Point Issue #28

Office of Communications | July 12, 2011
Campus Notes for The Point Issue #28

Presentations, Conferences, Lectures

Rona Flippo, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, presented her paper “Stimulating Awareness of Literacy Development: Both Personal and Family” at the International Reading Association Annual Convention held in Orlando, Florida, in May 2011.

Denise Patmon, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, presented the following two papers at the 2011 National Writing Project Urban Sites Network Conference on Nurturing Student Writing: Navigating Urban Literacies: “Why Not Achieve? Race, Writing Centers, Urban High School Culture, and University Partnership;” and “Learning From the Past: Literacy in the 19th Century Diverse African American Community.”

Russell Schutt, professor of sociology, delivered a keynote address, “Maximizing the Benefit of Housing: Consumer Preferences, Clinician Recommendations, Social Processes and Outcomes,” at the Ending a National Shame: Addressing Homelessness Among Veterans Conference for VISN 1 VA Clinical Staff held at Hanscom Air Force Base on May 6, 2011.

Peter Taylor, professor of curriculum and instruction, organized and then led two international workshops on Science and Society in May 2011; the first on “Open Spaces for Changing Science and Society” in Woods Hole, Massachusetts; and the second “Collaborative Production of Knowledge: Health, Environment, and Publics” in Coimbra, Portugal.

Carol Hardy-Fanta, director of the Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy, gave the keynote speech to the MetroSouth Chamber of Commerce's Annual Athena Awards on June 16 at the Shaw's Conference Center in Brockton. The topic of her speech was the connection between business and politics for women's leadership.

Maura Mast, associate vice provost for undergraduate studies and associate professor of mathematics, co-organized a special session on "Geometry of Nilpotent Lie Groups" at the 2011 Spring Eastern Section meeting of the American Mathematical Society at Holy Cross College, April 9-10.

Maura Mast, associate vice provost for undergraduate studies and associate professor of mathematics, led a team to attend the Association of American Colleges and Universities' Institute on General Education and Assessment, June 4-8, at San Jose State University. The team included Mark Pawlak, director of academic support services; Neal Bruss, associate professor of English; Pamela Annas, associate dean in the College of Liberal Arts; and Lisa Buenaventura, assistant vice chancellor for co-curricular learning and assessment.


Michael Ahn, assistant professor of public affairs and public policy, has co-written the article “Politics of E-Government and the Political Control of Bureaucracy,” which appears in the 2011 May/June issue of Public Administration Review.

Lisa Kennedy Sheldon, assistant professor of nursing, has published two articles, both in 2011:  “Provider Cue-responding Behaviors to Patient Distress During Oncology Visits,” in the Oncology Nursing Forum, 38(3), 369-375, and “No Pens, No Coffee, No Food: How New Regulations Changed Professional Conferences,” in the Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing, 15(2), 221-223.

Cinzia Solari, assistant professor of sociology, has published a chapter, “Between Europe and Africa: Building the New Ukraine on the Shoulders of Migrant Women,” in Mapping Difference: The Many Faces of Women in Contemporary Ukraine, edited by Marian J. Rubchak, Berghahn Books, 2011.

Recipients of New Sponsored Awards

Ed Tronick, distinguished university professor, has been awarded an $83,300 Memory Grant by the National Institute of Childhood Health and Development.

Molly Tschopp, associate professor of counseling and school psychology, has been awarded a $600,000 training grant by the U.S. Department of Education for her project “Rehabilitation Counseling Long-Term Training.”

Events and Honors

Michael Ahn, assistant professor of public affairs and public policy, will serve as president-elect of the Massachusetts Chapter of American Society of Public Administration (MassASPA) for the next two years. He also received the president’s award at the MassASPA annual dinner on May 6, 2011.

Bianca Bersani, assistant professor of sociology, was awarded the University of Maryland Distinguished Dissertation Prize for her dissertation, “Are Immigrants Crime Prone? A Multifaceted Investigation of the Relationship Between Immigration and Crime in Two Eras.”

Ellen Bruce, associate professor of gerontology, was granted Fellowship Status in the Gerontological Society of America.

The 2011 recipients of the College of Management Faculty Scholarship Awards are Nardia Haigh, assistant professor of management, for her project “Environmental Commons: From Tragedy to Rejuvenation,” and Wei Zhang, associate professor of management information systems, for “Victimized Phishing: A Dual-Process Information Processing Perspective.”

Laura L. Hayman, associate dean for research and professor of nursing, received the Excellence in Pediatric Graduate Education Award in recognition of her innovative and outstanding contributions to the pediatric advanced nursing practice on May 13, 2011, at the University of Pennsylvania. She delivered the keynote address, “Child Health in the 21st Century:  Challenges and Opportunities for Nursing and Transdisciplinary Science,” at the Penn Alumni session that focused on all graduates of the Penn nursing of children programs.

JoAnn Mulready-Shick, clinical assistant professor of nursing, is the 2011 recipient of the Pearl Rosendahl Excellence in Nursing Education Award given by the Theta Alpha Chapter, Sigma Theta Tau for her influence in scholarly development in nursing education research and nursing education program development.

Denise Patmon, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, is the recipient of the 45th Sojourner Truth Award given by the Boston and Vicinity Club of the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, Inc. She has also been invited to serve as the 2011-2012 Libra Professor at the University of Maine.

On May 23-26, the city of Derry-Londonderry in Northern Ireland hosted the 2nd Annual Conference of Forum for Cities In Transition (FCT). This conference was attended by delegations from 12 divided cities across the world where conflict has ended, are still in conflict, or where conflict looms.  They attended to learn about the Northern Ireland peace process and how Northern Ireland pulled itself out of a conflict once thought intractable. They attended to see how that process worked, to learn its lessons, and to see how these lessons might be adapted to the situations in their own countries. Padraig O’Malley, FCT director and Moakley Professor of Peace and Reconciliation; Nancy Riordan, research assistant; and Candyce Carragher, business and grants manager in the McCormack Graduate School, attended and assisted with the conference.

Marion Winfrey, associate professor of nursing, is the 2011 recipient of the Mary A. Manning Nurse Mentoring Award given by the Massachusetts Association of Registered Nurses.

Lisa DeAngelis has been appointed as the new director of the Center for Collaborative Leadership in the College of Management. DeAngelis is a 2003 alumnus of the center’s Emerging Leaders Program.

Assistant Professor of Nursing Mary Aruda was inducted as a Fellow of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) during the 26th Annual American Academy of Nurse Practitioners National Conference, June 22-26, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Assistant Professor of Conflict Resolution Rezarta Bilali has been elected to the Executive Committee of the American Psychological Association’s Peace Psychology Division, also known as the  Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict, and Violence.

Tags: campus notes , the point

Comment on this story

Comments (0)