Museum Cast, Crew Members Nominated for Kennedy Center Awards

Bill Doncaster, Outreach Coordinator, Performing Arts | December 09, 2015
A scene from Museum by Tina Howe

A scene from Museum by Tina Howe

We’re thrilled more of our students are being recognized, and it’s an honor to share this remarkable gathering with them.

A respondent from the Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF), Region 1, attended Saturday night’s performance of Museum at UMass Boston, and nominated cast and crew members for a number of awards.

Cast members Stanzi Potenza and Cassidy Bane were both nominated for the prestigious Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship, with Christian Ruiz and Scott Stewardson named as alternates. The Irene Ryan Foundation awards sixteen regional and two national scholarships in acting annually. 

Three members of the behind-the-scenes team were also nominated for recognition. Ian Teng "Christy" Choi was nominated for the show’s lighting design, Tori Moline for Hair & Make-up Design, and Lauren Annese for Stage Management.

The entire cast will receive a certificate for “Excellence in Ensemble Acting.”

These students will attend the KCACTF Region 1 Festival hosted by Western Connecticut State in January, joining fellow UMass Boston students nominated for performance, design, and writing in earlier productions. Region 1 joins students from participating colleges in all New England states, New York, and New Jersey.

These include: Irene Ryan nominations for Erin Reilly in Musical Theatre Cabaret, Sabina Lindsey in The Ontology Ward, and Patrick McCarthy in Argyles, the latter two were part of NEW VOICES NEW STORIES; a Maltby Musical Theatre Excellence nomination for Georgia Johnson for her performance in Musical Theatre Cabaret; and Design, Technical, and Management nominations for Scott Stewardson, Sound Design, Lauren Annese, Props, and Cassidy Bane, Costumes. Patrick McCarthy was selected as a finalist in Region 1 for his 10-minute play No Second Chance. McCarthy is the first UMass Boston playwright selected for the competition.

“This is a wonderful learning opportunity for the nominees,” said Rafael Jaen, assistant professor of theatre arts at UMass Boston, and national design, technology, and management chair for the KCACTF. “During the festival, they’ll compete with their peers from other colleges for national recognition, and work with practicing professionals on all aspects of performance and production.”

“Most importantly, this is an honor for the entire cast and crew,” Jaen said. “This show is an ensemble piece, and nothing in theater happens independently of one’s fellow actors and the team that makes it all work.”

Carrie Ann Quinn, associate chair of performing arts and head of acting and directing, has served the KCACTF as an Irene Ryan coach and production respondent for 12 years in Regions I and IV, and will be a Irene Ryan audition respondent at the Region I festival.

“The spirit of the KCACTF is one of celebration, an opportunity for students to present the work they’ve accomplished at UMass Boston along with the region’s top university theatre programs in eight states and learn from peers and professionals, more than competition,” said Quinn. “We’re thrilled more of our students are being recognized, and it’s an honor to share this remarkable gathering with them. Their hard work is matched by a strong commitment from the Office of the Provost at UMass Boston to support undergraduate research, and I’m proud their work represents the university so well.”

Museum by Tina Howe continues its run this December 9, 10, and 11 at 7:30 p.m. in the McCormack Theatre.

Friday’s performance marks the last in the McCormack Theatre, as the Performing Arts Department is moving to the near-complete University Hall with new performance spaces. Alumni are invited to attend as the department celebrates the McCormack’s 41-year legacy of performance at UMass Boston.

Tags: actor , arts , arts and entertainment , kennedy center , museum , performing arts , playwright , playwriting , theater , theatre

Comment on this story

Comments (0)