UMass Boston to Induct 2015 Hall of Fame Class Tuesday

Colleen Locke | October 19, 2015
Volleyball player Kate (McWhorter) Carlson '10 (center) is one of the newest inductees into UMass Boston's Hall of Fame.

Volleyball player Kate (McWhorter) Carlson '10 (center) is one of the newest inductees into UMass Boston's Hall of Fame.

Six Individuals, 1 Team to be Inducted

Kate (McWhorter) Carlson '10 transferred to UMass Boston from a Division I school in California before her junior year, seeking a new challenge in a big city.

By the end of that season, Carlson had led the volleyball team to the first of six straight Little East Conference championships and the program's first NCAA tournament appearance and win. Along the way, Carlson became the first Beacon to be named an American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-American. On Tuesday, she will be one of six individuals inducted into the UMass Boston Athletics Hall of Fame. The ​1996 men’s lacrosse team will also be inducted.

The Class of 2015 inductees are:

  • Frank Kelley '68 (Boston State College) - men's ice hockey
  • Steve Hunt '78 (Boston State College) - cross country/outdoor track and field
  • Michael Bogart '80 (Boston State College) - football
  • Raymond Buckland '86 (Boston State College) - men's basketball
  • Chris Hanafin '07 (UMass Boston) - lacrosse
  • Katherine (McWhorter) Carlson '10 (UMass Boston) - volleyball
  • 1996 UMass Boston men's lacrosse team 

A member of the greatest scoring line in the history of the Boston State College ice hockey program, Frank Kelley '68 led the Warriors to a combined 34-3 record (.919 winning percentage) from 1964-66. 

Five-time All-American Steve Hunt '78 was Boston State’s 1979 NCAA National Champion in cross country. He was a pioneer for the Warriors’ distance programs. 

A leader on the 1974 New England Football Conference championship team, Michael Bogart '80 set the single-season reception record with 35 in 1975, and also held the mark for total yards with 456.

A 2004 New England Basketball Hall of Fame inductee, Raymond Buckland '86 was a three-time Division III All-American for the Warriors.  Buckland led the league in both scoring and rebounding, and went on to serve as a team captain. 

The first Beacons lacrosse player to be named a four-time All-Little East Conference honoree, Chris Hanafin '07 is one of the all-time greats in program history. Hanafin ended his career with 147 goals (fourth-most in program history), 60 assists (tied for eighth), and 207 points (No. 4 in program history).

Under the direction of former head coach Myles Berry, the ​1996 UMass Boston men’s lacrosse team went 12-1, setting a school record for the most wins in program history. The Beacons ranked second in the country in scoring defense, allowing less than six goals per game, and their .923 winning percentage ranked them fifth in Division III.  

The 13th Annual Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Celebration starts at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday in the Campus Center ballroom. Tickets are $85. Get tickets here.

Established in 2003, the Hall of Fame recognizes and honors former outstanding UMass Boston/Boston State College student-athletes, coaches, administrators, and friends of the athletics program for their accomplishments and services to the Department of Athletics. The names and honors of the inductees are permanently displayed in the Clark Athletic Center.

About UMass Boston
The University of Massachusetts Boston is deeply rooted in the city's history, yet poised to address the challenges of the future. Recognized for innovative research, metropolitan Boston’s public university offers its diverse student population both an intimate learning environment and the rich experience of a great American city. UMass Boston’s 11 colleges and graduate schools serve more than 17,000 students while engaging local and global constituents through academic programs, research centers, and public service. To learn more, visit

Tags: alumni , athletics , beacons , hall of fame

Comment on this story

Comments (0)