Gerontology Institute

at the University of Massachusetts Boston

Areas of Expertise

Adult Development and Aging

Bereavement

Demography of Aging (including immigration)

Driving/Transportation and Aging

Economic Security In the Later Years

End of Life

Grandparenthood

Health and Long-Term Care

Productive Aging, Older Workers, Volunteering

Retirement

Journal of Aging & Social Policy

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI)

Pension Action Center

 

Adult Development and Aging

Kathrin Boerner, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department, Fellow, Gerontology Institute

kathrin.boerner@umb.edu, 617.287-7348

Bereavement

Kathrin Boerner, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department, Fellow, Gerontology Institute

kathrin.boerner@umb.edu, 617.287-7348

Demography of Aging (including immigration)

Jeffrey Burr, Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
jeffrey.burr@umb.edu, 617.287.7318

Jan Mutchler, Graduate Program Director, Gerontology Department; Associate Director, Gerontology Institute
jan.mutchler@umb.edu, 617.287.7321

Driving/Transportation and Aging

Elizabeth Dugan, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
beth.dugan@umb.edu, 617.287.7382

Nina Silverstein, Undergraduate Program Director; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
nina.silverstein@umb.edu, 617.287.7317

Economic Security In the Later Years

Ellen Bruce, Director Emerita, Gerontology Institute
Ellen.bruce@umb.edu, 617.287.7315

End of Life

Kathrin Boerner, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department, Fellow, Gerontology Institute

kathrin.boerner@umb.edu, 617.287-7348

Grandparenthood

Jan Mutchler, Graduate Program Director, Gerontology Department; Associate Director, Gerontology Institute
jan.mutchler@umb.edu, 617.287.7321

Maximiliane Szinovacz, Frank J. Manning Eminent Scholar's Chair in Gerontology; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
maxi.szinovacz@umb.edu, 617.287.7320

Health and Long-Term Care

Alzheimer’s Disease and Dementia Care

Nina Silverstein, Undergraduate Program Director; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
nina.silverstein@umb.edu,  617.287.7317

Coping with Chronic Illness

Kathrin Boerner, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department, Fellow, Gerontology Institute

kathrin.boerner@umb.edu, 617.287-7348

  
Doctor-Patient Communication and Quality of Care  

Elizabeth Dugan, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
beth.dugan@umb.edu, 617.287.7382

  
Family Caregivers  

Maximiliane Szinovacz, Frank J. Manning Eminent Scholar's Chair in Gerontology; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
maxi.szinovacz@umb.edu, 617.287.7320


Health Care Disparities/Aging and Disability

Elizabeth Dugan, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
beth.dugan@umb.edu, 617.287.7382

Alison Gottlieb, Research Staff and Fellow, Gerontology Institute
alison.gottlieb@umb.edu, 617-287 7413

Jan Mutchler, Graduate Program Director, Gerontology Department; Associate Director, Gerontology Institute
jan.mutchler@umb.edu, 617.287.7321

  
Health Reform  

Edward A. Miller, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
edward.miller@umb.edu, 617.287.7313

  

  
Long-Term Care Funding/Medicaid  

  

Edward A. Miller, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
edward.miller@umb.edu, 617.287.7313

Pamela Nadash, Assistant Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
pamela.nadash@umb.edu, 617.287.7342


Long-Term Care Workforce

Alison Gottlieb, Research Staff and Fellow, Gerontology Institute
alison.gottlieb@umb.edu, 617.287.413


Management of Aging Services

Ellen Birchander, Co-Director, Management of Aging Services, Masters Program; Senior Fellow, Gerontology Institute
ellen.birchander@umb.edu, 617.287.7338

Lillian Glickman, Co-Director, Management of Aging Services, Masters Program; Senior Fellow, Gerontology Institute
lillian.glickman@umb.edu, 617.287.7338


Nursing Homes and Home Health Care

K. R. Kaffenberger, Fellow, Gerontology Institute
krkaff@comcast.net, 617.287.7302

Pamela Nadash, Assistant Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
pamela.nadash@umb.edu, 617.287.7342

Frank Porell, Professor, Gerontology Department; Senior Fellow, Gerontology Institute
frank.porell@umb.edu, 617.287.7239


Residential Options/Home and Community-Based Long-Term Care

Ellen Birchander, Co-Director, Management of Aging Services, Masters Program; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
ellen.birchander@umb.edu, 617.287.7320

Frank Caro, Professor Emeritus; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
frank.caro@umb.edu, 617.287.7327

Pamela Nadash, Assistant Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
Pamela.nadash@umb.edu, 617.287.7342

Nina Silverstein,Undergraduate Program Director; Senior Fellow, Gerontology Institute
nina.silverstein@umb.edu, 617.287.7317


Telemedicine & E-Health

Edward A. Miller, Associate Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
Edward.miller@umb.edu, 617.287.7313


Productive Aging, Older Workers, Volunteering  

Jeffrey Burr, Professor, Gerontology Department; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
jeffrey.burr@umb.edu, 617.287.7318

Frank Caro, Professor Emeritus; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
frank.caro@umb.edu, 617.287.7327

Jan Mutchler, Graduate Program Director, Gerontology Department; Associate Director, Gerontology Institute
jan.mutchler@umb.edu, 617.287.7321

Retirement

Retirement Experience and Processes

Maximiliane Szinovacz, Frank J. Manning Eminent Scholar's Chair in Gerontology; Fellow, Gerontology Institute
maxi.szinovacz@umb.edu, 617.287.7320

Robert Weiss, Fellow, Gerontology Institute
robert.weiss@umb.edu, 617.287.7275


Social Security and Retirement Benefits

Ellen Bruce, Director, Gerontology Institute
ellen.bruce@umb.edu, 617.287.7315

Journal of Aging and Social Policy

Frank Caro, Editor
frank.caro@umb.edu
617.287.7327

Robert Geary, Managing Editor
robert.geary@umb.edu
617.287.7308

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI)

Wichian Rojanawon, Director
wichian.rojanawon@umb.edu, 617.287.7090

Pension Action Center (PAC)

Jeanne Medeiros, JD, Director, Pension Action Center
jeanne.medeiros@umb.edu, 617.287.7332