About Our Department

UMass Boston is the urban campus of the University of Massachusetts system. We are located on Boston Harbor, just south of downtown Boston, with the Massachusetts State Archives and the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Presidential Library as our neighbors. We are comprised of nine colleges and graduate schools that provide undergraduate and graduate education to residents of metropolitan Boston: the College of Advancing and Professional Development, the College of Education and Human Development, the College of Liberal Arts, the College of Management, the College of Nursing and Health Sciences, the College of Public and Community Service, the College of Science and Mathematics, the John W. McCormack Graduate School of Policy and Global Studies, and the School for Global Inclusion and Social Development. They share this mission: to provide "challenging teaching, distinguished research, and extensive service which particularly respond to the academic and economic needs of the state's urban areas and their diverse urban populations."

The University of Massachusetts Boston, Department of Public Safety is charged with the responsibility of helping to provide a safe and secure environment in which the students, faculty, staff and visitors will be able to learn, teach, work, and visit. The department is committed to a community based policing philosophy. The Department of Public Safety maintains four divisions to accomplish its vision, mission and goals: