Office for Faculty Development

About Us

The Office for Faculty Development was launched in the Spring of 2011 as an initiative of Provost Winston Langley. Prior to this, Dr. Langley commissioned the Faculty Development Committee to make recommendations for faculty development priorities at UMass Boston. The committee conducted a faculty survey to ascertain the perceived support and development needs of faculty at all career stages in both tenure track and non tenure track roles in teaching and research/scholarship/creative activity. 

Our Director

Judith Goleman

Judy has had a distinguished career at UMass Boston. Her area of expertise is composition theory and pedagogy. She is the author of Working Theory: Critical Composition Studies for Teachers and Students, as well as numerous articles. From 2007-2012 she served as chair of the English Department. In that capacity, she developed mentoring programs for junior faculty and non-tenure track instructors. Judy was also instrumental in the development of the English Department’s long-standing graduate teaching program in composition, which became a model for the department’s graduate intern programs in the teaching of literature and creative writing. She later won approval for the university’s first postdoctoral teaching fellowship program, designed to prepare newly minted PhDs to teach English studies in public urban institutions. Deeply committed to supporting the synergy between research and teaching, she has served on many university-wide groups, including the Strategic Planning Task Force, the University Assessment Council, and the Research Council. Judy looks forward to building on the activities and structures that are already in place in the Office of Faculty Development, and to expanding professional development opportunities for tenure track and non-tenure track faculty at all stages of their careers, department chairs, and graduate students who will be future members of the professoriate.

Assistant Director

Camille Martinez

Camille Martinez has been with the Office for Faculty Development since its inception in 2011. As Assistant Director, she helps to conceptualize and implement a university wide program of faculty development that covers all aspects of faculty experience related to teaching, research, and service, beginning with the time of entry to UMass Boston, through the pre-tenure years leading to tenure, and the post-tenure career. This also includes partnering with a wide array of campus departments and divisions to strategize a full program of development activities and an annual conference. Prior to this, she held positions as the Editor and Communications Project Manager of Field Operations at EarthWatch Institute and Communications Manager at the University of Puerto Rico Sea Grant Program respectively. Both of these positions endeavored to support citizen science and community engagement. Her role was to support faculty’s fieldwork activities in connection with students and community members as well as to effectively communicate the results and outcomes of their research. She has degrees from the University of New Hampshire and Northeastern University in International Management and Anthropology and is currently an ABD doctoral candidate at UMass Amherst in the Department of Communication. 

Advisory Board

Christina Bobel Women's Studies Chris.Bobel@umb.edu
Michelle Foster Chemistry Michelle.Foster@umb.edu
Christopher Fung Anthropology Christopher.Fung@umb.edu
Brian Halley Provost & VC Academic Affairs Brian.Halley@umb.edu
Marc Lavine Management & Marketing Marc.Lavine@umb.edu
Haeok Lee Nursing Haeok.Lee@umb.edu
Mark Lewis Manager of Instructional Support Mark.Lewis@umb.edu
Daniel Ortiz Healey Library Daniel.Ortiz@umb.edu
Denise Patmon Curriculum & Instruction Denise.Patmon@umb.edu
Luciano Ramos Office for Community Partnerships Luciano.Ramos@umb.edu
Mary Simone IT Ed Tech & Learning Commons Mary.Simone@umb.edu
 Rajini Srikanth Honors Program Rajini.Srikanth@umb.edu
Lynnell Thomas American Studies Lynnell.Thomas@umb.edu
Brian White Biology Brian.White@umb.edu
Zong-Guo Xia VP for Research ZongGuo.Xia@umb.edu
Vivian Zamel English Vivian.Zamel@umb.edu

Contact Us:

Healey Library, 4th Fl. Rm. 13B 617. 287.6074