Fellows

Sally Bould, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Women and aging, Poverty, Family

Contact: salbould@UDel.edu

Kathrin Boerner, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Adult development and aging, Coping with chronic illness, End of life, Bereavement

Contact kathrin.boerner@umb.edu

Natasha S. Bryant

Contact: (202) 508-1214, nbryant@leadingage.org

Jeffrey Burr, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Social demography of aging, Household composition and living arrangements, Race and ethnicity in aging populations, Labor force participation in later life, Productive activity in later life

Contact: 617.287.7318, jeffrey.burr@umb.edu

Frank Caro, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Long-term care, Productive aging

Contact: 617.287.7307, frank.caro@umb.edu

Yung-Ping Chen, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Financing and benefit structure of Social Security, Differential pension coverage for Black and Hispanic workers, Concept of and problems with Reverse Mortgages, New model for funding long-term care, Concept of and barriers to phased retirement

Contact: 617.287.7326, bing.chen@umb.edu

Marc A. Cohen, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Financing Long-Term Services and Supports, Private Long-Term Care Insurance, Fall Prevention, Service Utilization patterns of Disabled Elders, Family Caregiving, Care Management and Care Transitions, Managing Long-Term Services and Supports Populations

Contact: 617.287.7306, marc.cohen@umb.edu

Caitlin Coyle, PhD

Contact: 617. 287.7467, caitlin.coyle@umb.edu

Elizabeth Dugan, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Driving/Transportation and aging, Health and aging, Health politics and policy, Aging and long-term care

Contact: 617.287.7382, beth.dugan@umb.edu

Alison Gottlieb, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Health care disparities/aging and disability, Long-term care workforce

Contact: 617.287.7413, alison.gottlieb@umb.edu

Joan Hyde, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Senior housing, Assisted living, Assistive technology, Alzheimer's disease and dementia care, Long-term care policy

Contact: 617.287.2132, hyde@ivyhallseniorliving.com

Michael P. Johnson, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Management science planning models for public-sector facility location and service delivery, with applications to assisted housing and senior services

Contact: 617.287.6967, michael.johnson@umb.edu

K.R. Kaffenberger, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Health planning, Long-term care administration

Contact: 617.287.7302, krkaff@comcast.net

Helen Kerschner, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Driving/Transportation and aging,

Contact: 505.222.0620, hkerschner@beverlyfoundation.org

Edward A. Miller, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Federal and state policies affecting vulnerable populations (including the frail and disabled elderly, mentally ill, veterans, and urban underserved), Aging and long-term care, Telemedicine and e-health

Contact: 617.287.7313, edward.miller@umb.edu

Pamela Nadash, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Nursing home and home health care, Long-term care funding/Medicaid, Consumer-directed services in England

Contact: 617.287.7342, pamela.nadash@umb.edu

Taryn Patterson

Contact: 202-508-9427, tpatterson@leadingage.org

Frank Porell, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Outcome-based quality indicators of nursing home performance measurement, Profiling the disability risks of community elders, Hospitalization of nursing home residents, Market supply behavior of home healthcare agencies, Long-run consequences of sentinel injuries on elders

Contact: 617.287.7239, frank.porell@umb.edu

Adrienne Ruffin

Contact: 202-508-1213, aruffin@leadingage.org

Nina Silverstein, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Alzheimer's disease and dementia care, Driving/Transportation and aging, Residential options/home and community-based long-term care

Contact: 617.287.7317, nina.silverstein@umb.edu

Alisha Sanders

Contact: 202-508-1211, asanders@leadingage.org

Robyn Stone

Contact: 202-508-1206, rstone@LeadingAge.org

Robert Weiss

Contact: 617.287.7275, robert.weiss@umb.edu

Christian Weller, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Private pensions, Social Security, Retirement income security, Wealth inequality and asset development, Financial institutions, International economic development

Contact: 617.287.6938, christian.weller@umb.edu

Susan Krauss Whitbourne, PhD

Areas of Expertise: Personality development in middle and later adulthood

Contact: 617.287.7320, Susan.Whitbourne@umb.edu


Gerontology Institute

Wheatley Hall, 3rd Floor, Room 124A
University of Massachusetts Boston
100 Morrissey Blvd.
Boston, MA 02125 USA

Giving to UMass Boston

Your gift to the Gerontology Institute helps support the training and development of professionals who can engage in public policy education for the aging.