UMass Boston

Student Affairs

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Hello Beacon family!  It is a great privilege to serve as your Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.  My office provides leadership for a group of 15 areas that span the range of student needs and interests.  We work each day to advance student care, connection, and inclusion.  We are here to meet the 24/7 needs of our community. We are Student Affairs, and we are here for you, the students!

Karen Ferrer-Muñiz, PhD

Karen Ferrer-Muñiz, PhD
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Dean Karen Ferrer-Muniz at orientation.

Vice Chancellor Event Request  Student Affairs Reports Organizational Chart Feb 2024

Division Leadership Groups

Vice Chancellor's Executive Team

This group identifies and addresses issues related to the Division’s mission, vision, and goals.  It provides high-level strategy and decision-making that have implications for strategic development, operations, and resource management.  Membership includes the Vice Chancellor, Associate Vice Chancellor, Assistant Vice Chancellors, Director of Public Safety/Chief of Police, Executive Director of Health Services, and the Director of Finance and Administration.

Student Affairs Staff Council

. .
Karen-Ferrer-Muniz

 

Karen Ferrer-Muñiz, Ph.D.
Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs,
Karen.Ferrer-Muniz@umb.edu
Shawn_De_Veau

 

Shawn De Veau, J.D.
Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs & Dean of Students
Shawn.DeVeau@umb.edu

Steve_Neville

 

Steve Neville, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
Steven.Neville@umb.edu

Michael_Metzger

 

Michael C. Metzger, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs
michael.metzger@umb.edu

Aurora_Burgos

 

Aurora Burgos
Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor
Aurora.Burgos@umb.edu

Ashlee-Carter

 

Ashlee Carter, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of Students & Deputy Title IX Coordinator
Ashlee.Carter@umb.edu

Jennifer_Maitino

 

Jennifer Maitino
Associate Dean & Director of Housing and Residence Education
Jennifer.Maitino@umb.edu

Chiquita_Baylor

 

Chiquita Baylor
Assistant Dean of Campus Involvement
Chiquita.Baylor@umb.edu

Robert_Pomales

 

Robert Pomales
Executive Director of University Health Services
Robert.Pomales@umb.edu

Shaun Morgan

 

Shaun Morgan
Executive Director of Global Programs
Shaun.Morgan@umb.edu

umass_logo

 

Bill DeFranc 
Interim Co-Director of the Counseling Center
William.DeFranc@umb.edu

Photo of Terri
Teri Grayson
Interim Co-Director of the Counseling Center
Teri.Grayson@umb.edu
umass_logo

 

Chris Colon
Director of Student Affairs Technology Services
Christopher.Colon@umb.edu

umass_logo

 

Ken Sprague
Interim Director of Public Safety/Chief of Police
Kenneth.Sprague@umb.edu

Janet_Wolk

 

Janet Wolk
Director of Finance and Administration
Janet.Wolk@umb.edu

 

 

 

Contact Us

Student Affairs
Quinn Administration Building, 3rd Floor
617.287.5805
VCSA@umb.edu