Academics

Department Chairs and Administrators


Please note: changes to the list below are made prior to the start of each semester. If you have any questions, please contact ProvostComm@umb.edu.

Fall 2017

617 287 + ext.

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

Interim Provost and Vice Chancellor Emily McDermott emily.mcdermott 5600
Vice Provost and Director, Global Programs Schuyler Korban schuyler.korban 5586
Associate Provost, Assessment and Planning Peter Langer peter.langer 5611
Associate Provost Cheryl Nixon cheryl.nixon 5600
Associate Provost, Institutional Research, Assessment, and Planning James J. Hughes jamesj.hughes 5420
Associate Vice Chancellor Anita Miller anita.miller 5606
Assistant Vice Chancellor Thomas Miller thomas.miller 5604
Senior Editor Brian Halley brian.halley 5610

COLLEGE OF ADVANCING AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

Dean Philip DiSalvio philip.disalvio 7926
Associate Dean TBD    
Associate Dean, Learning, Design, and Technology Wendy Shapiro wendy.shapiro 5984
Assistant Dean, Personnel & Administrative Services Joseph Lally joe.lally 7920
Assistant Dean, Finance and Business Intelligence Michael Tull michael.tull 7954
Director, Addictions Counselor Education Program William Carlo william.carlo 5489
Director, Applied Behavior Analysis Program Mary Brady mary.brady 7254
Director, Broadening Advanced Technological Education Connections (BATEC) Deborah Boisvert deborah.boisvert 7295
Director, Center for Innovation & Excellence in eLearning Alan Girelli alan.girelli 7578
Director, China Program Center Wanli Hu wanli.hu 7292
Director, Communications, Marketing, and Strategic Alliances Cedric Sinclair cedric.sinclair 7937
Director, Corporate and Professional Training and Outreach Olga Lauterbach olga.lauterbach 7298
Director, Credit Programs Wanda Willard wanda.willard 7874
Director, Critical and Creative Thinking Program Peter Taylor peter.taylor 7636
Director, Global Post-Disaster Studies and Emergency Management Programs Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7112
Director, Instructional Design Program Judith Erdman judith.erdman 5980
Director, International and University Prep Programs Stanley Wanucha stanley.wanucha 7941
Coordinator, Center for Technical Education TBD    
Coordinator, Global Affairs and International Development Programs Denise Sharif denise.sharif 7918
Manager, Online Education Jason Campos jason.campos 7912
Operations Director, BATEC   Louis Piazza louis.piazza 3202

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT (CEHD)

DEAN'S OFFICE      
Dean Joseph Berger joseph.berger

7606

Associate Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski 7592
Assistant Dean Denise McNair denise.mcnair

7672

Director, Assessment, Accreditation, and Licensure Tyra Lopes-Mendes tyra.mendes 7669
Director, Student Services Center Aimee D'Avignon aimee.davignon 7492
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS    
Counseling & School Psychology Takuya Minami takuya.minami 7619
Curriculum & Instruction Lisa Gonsalves lisa.gonsalves 7591
Leadership in Education Tara Parker tara.parker 7728
CEHD CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS    
Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC)  Arthur Eisenkraft arthur.eisenkraft 7652
Institute for Early Education Leadership and Innovation Anne Douglass anne.douglass 7675
Institute for International & Comparative Education Wenfan Yan wenfan.yan 4873

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS (CLA)

DEAN'S OFFICE
Dean David Terkla david.terkla 6505
Associate Dean Stephanie Hartwell stephanie.hartwell 6529
Associate Dean Pratima Prasad pratima.prasad 6506
Assistant Dean, Finance Kim Ho kim.ho 6946
Assistant Dean, Personnel Fiona O'Brien fiona.obrien 6508
Assistant Dean/Scheduling & Special Projects Diann Simmons diann.simmons 6507
Director, CLA FIRST Joyce Morgan joyce.morgan 7897
Director, Major Advising Ana Frega ana.frega 5347
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS    
Africana Studies TBD    
American Studies Aaron Lecklider aaron.lecklider 6772
Anthropology Stephen Silliman stephen.silliman 6853
Applied Linguistics Panagiota Gounari panagiota.gounari 5760
Art David Areford david.areford 5730
Asian Studies Terry Kawashima terry.kawashima 6125
Classics and Religious Studies Kenneth Rothwell kenneth.rothwell 6123
Communication Jennifer Gregg jennifer.gregg 6770
Economics Adugna Lemi adugna.lemi 6950
English Leonard Von Morze leonard.vonmorze 6700
History Tim Hacsi tim.hacsi 6860
Latin American & Iberian Studies Susan Gauss susan.gauss 7550
Modern Languages, Literatures & Cultures Claudia Esposito claudia.esposito 7570
Performing Arts David Pruett david.pruett 5646
Philosophy Christopher Zurn christopher.zurn 7800
Political Science Leila Farsakh leila.farsakh 6920
Psychology Jane Adams jane.adams 6346
Sociology Paul Benson paul.benson 6269
Women's and Gender Studies Elora Chowdhury elora.chowdhury 6764
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS    
Cinema Studies Sarah Keller sarah.keller N/A
Creative Writing Askold Melnyczuk askold.melnyczuk 6700
Criminal Justice Xiaogang Deng xiaogang.deng 6250
English as a Second Language Vivian Zamel vivian.zamel 6700
Human Services Sylvia Mignon sylvia.mignon 7384
Human Services Graduate Program Sylvia Mignon sylvia.mignon 7384
International Relations Paul Kowert paul.kowert 6942
Irish Studies Thomas O'Grady thomas.ogrady 6700
Latino Studies Raul Ybarra raul.ybarra 7158
Native American & Indigenous Studies Christopher Fung christopher.fung 6860
CENTERS DIRECTORS    
Applied Ethics Center Nir Eisikovits nir.eisikovits 6530
Center for Evidence Based Mentoring Jean Rhodes jean.rhodes 6368
Center for Humanities, Culture, and Society Rachel Rubin rachel.rubin 6773
The Center for Portuguese Language Jose Da Cunha Rodrigues jose.rodrigues 3815
Center on Gender, Security, and Human Rights Carol Cohn carol.cohn 6412
Fiske Center Steve Mrozowski stephen.mrozowski 6842
Labor Resource Center Steve Striffler steve.striffler 7377
Spanish Resource Center Eva Martin Gonzalez eva.martin 5949

COLLEGE OF MANAGEMENT (CM)

DEAN'S OFFICE
Interim Dean Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7702
Associate Dean TBD   7031
Associate Dean, Graduate Programs    James Grant james.grant 7713
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance Domingo Altarejos domingo.altarejos 7752
Director of Academic Partnerships Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7673
Director, Grants David Levy david.levy 7860
Director, Marketing and Communications Andrea Reardon andrea.reardon 7708
Operations Manager Epiphania Godinho epiphania.godinho 7747
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS    
Accounting & Finance Kiran Verma kiran.verma

7861

Management Alessia Contu alessia.contu

7764

Management Science & Information Systems Peng Xu peng.xu 7882
Marketing Raymond Liu raymond.liu 7739
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS    
PhD Program Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7673
Director, Undergraduate Program Amy Daubney Mei amy.mei 7762
Director of Graduate Enrollment Programs Barbara Benoit barbara.benoit 7701
Director, Online Programs Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7854
Director, Assurance of Learning (AoL) Wei Zhang wei.zhang 3946
Director, Writing Program Kathryn Archard kathryn.archard 7685
CENTERS DIRECTORS    
Center for Collaborative Leadership (CCL) Lisa DeAngelis lisa.deangelis 3893
Center for Sustainable Enterprise and Regional Competitiveness (SERC) David Levy david.levy 7860
Entrepreneurship Center (EC) Erin McCormick erin.mccormick N/A
Financial Services Forum Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7702
MA Small Business Development Center (MSBDC) Evelyn Darling evelyn.darling 7750

COLLEGE OF NURSING & HEALTH SCIENCES (CNHS)

DEAN'S OFFICE
Dean Linda Thompson linda.thompson 6876
Associate Dean Marion Winfrey marion.winfrey 7544
Associate Dean for Research  Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7279
Assistant Dean Christine Murphy christine.murphy 7517
Director, Student Services Karen Jimmons Gales karen.gales 7582
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS    
Nursing Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 6731
Exercise and Health Science (Interim) Jessica Whiteley jessica.whiteley 3807
CNHS PROGRAMS DIRECTORS    
EHS Undergraduate Program Dana Commesso dana.commesso 6239
EHS Graduate Program Tongjian You tongjian.you 5934
Nursing PhD Program Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 6731
Nursing Masters Program  Patricia Halon pat.halon 7569
Doctor of Nursing Practice Beth Rowlands

beth.rowlands

7500
Undergraduate Pre-Licensure Nursing Judith Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7505
Post MA Certificate Mary Fischer mary.fischer 7500
RN to BS Nursing Christine Salvucci christine.salvucci 7500
Accelerated Baccalaureate in Nursing Judith Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7505
CENTERS
Center for Clinical Education & Research Rosemary Samia rosemary.samia 6957
GoKids Boston Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7279

COLLEGE OF PUBLIC & COMMUNITY SERVICE (CPCS)

DEAN'S OFFICE      
Interim Dean Stephanie Hartwell stephanie.hartwell 6271

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS (CSM)

DEAN'S OFFICE
Dean Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 5777
Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs William Hagar william.hagar 5776
Associate Dean, Student Success TBD    
Assistant Dean/Projects and Communications Ebru Korbek-Erdogmus ebru.korbek-erdogmus 5727
Assistant Dean/Administration and Finance Stephanie Fernandez stephanie.fernandez 6904
Director, Strategic Initiatives Alexander Gritsinin alexander.gritsinin 5936
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS    
Biology Richard Kesseli rick.kesseli 6627
Chemistry Robert Carter robert.carter 6193
Computer Science Peter Fejer peter.fejer 6453
Engineering Greg Sun greg.sun 6432
Mathematics Eric Grinberg eric.grinberg 6460
Physics Stephen Arnason stephen.arnason 6068
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS    
Biobehavioral Studies Alexia Pollack alexia.pollack 6618
Biochemistry Jason Evans jason.evans 6149
CENTER DIRECTOR    
Center for Environmental Health, Science and Technology Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 5777
Center for Green Chemistry Wei Zhang wei2.zhang 6147
Center for Personalized Cancer Therapy Jill Macoska jill.macoska 5783

HONORS COLLEGE

Dean Rajini Srikanth rajini.srikanth 5521
Associate Dean Megan Rokop megan.rokop 5520
Assistant Dean TBD    

MCCORMACK GRADUATE SCHOOL OF POLICY AND GLOBAL STUDIES (MGS)

DEAN'S OFFICE
Dean David Cash david.cash 4838
Associate Dean Rita Kiki Edozie ritakiki.edozie 5550
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs (and Student Affairs) Justin Maher justin.maher 5553
Assistant Dean for Budget and Administration Lisa Greggo lisa.greggo 5773
DEPARTMENTS & PROGRAMS CHAIRS    
Public Policy and Public Affairs Christine Brenner christine.brenner 6977
Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance Samuel Barkin samuel.barkin 4845
Gerontology Jeffrey Burr jeffrey.burr 7318
CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS    
Center for Governance and Sustainability Maria Ivanova maria.ivanova 7263
Center for Peace, Democracy and Development Darren Kew darren.kew 7428
Center for Rebuilding Sustainable Communities after Disasters Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7112
Center for Social and Demographic Research on Aging Jan Mutchler jan.mutchler 7321
Center for Social Policy Susan Crandall susan.crandall 5565
Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy Ann Bookman ann.bookman 5541
Collins Center for Public Management Stephen McGoldrick stephen.mcgoldrick 4022
Gerontology Institute Len Fishman len.fishman 7327
Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration (MOPC) Susan Jeghelian susan.jeghelian 4040
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) TBD    
Pension Action Center Jeanne Medeiros jeanne.medeiros 7332

SCHOOL FOR THE ENVIRONMENT (SFE)

DEAN'S OFFICE      
Dean Robyn Hannigan robyn.hannigan 7440
Associate Dean William Robinson william.robinson 7456
Assistant Dean Alan Abend alan.abend 5370
SFE PROGRAMS      
Urban Planning & Community Development Kenneth Reardon kenneth.reardon 7440
Undergraduate Program Alan Christian alan.christian 6639
Graduate Program Ellen Douglas ellen.douglas 7437

SCHOOL OF GLOBAL INCLUSION & SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT (SGISD)

Dean William Kiernan william.kiernan 4311
Associate Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski 7592
Assistant Dean Sheila Fesko sheila.fesko 4365
Operations Manager Sarah Paterson sarah.paterson 4301
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS    
Asian American Studies Peter Kiang peter.kiang 7614
INSTITUTES DIRECTORS    
Institute for Community Inclusion Tom Sannicandro tom.sannicandro 4758
Institute for New England Native American Studies (INENAS) Cedric Woods cedric.woods 5784

ACADEMIC SUPPORT SERVICES & UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

Vice Provost Joan Becker joan.becker 5840
Associate Vice Provost Jeanmarie Spinetti jeanmarie.spinetti 5877
Associate Vice Provost, Undergraduate Studies Karen Ricciardi karen.ricciardi 6553
Assistant Vice Provost, University Advising Center Gail Stubbs gail.stubbs 5500
Interim Director, Academic Support Services Michael LeBlanc michael.leblanc 6557
Director, Career Services and Internships Mark Kenyon mark.kenyon 5519
Director, Ross Center for Disability Services Patricia Neilson patricia.neilson 7432
Associate Director, Writing Assessment Harry Makrinos harry.makrinos 6330

RESEARCH/GRADUATE STUDIES

Vice Provost for Research and Strategic Initiatives & Dean of Graduate Studies Bala Sundaram bala.sundaram TBD
Associate Vice Provost for Graduate Studies Mya M. Mangawang mya.mangawang TBD
Associate Vice Provost for Research & Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Matthew Meyer matthew.meyer 5372
Assistant Vice Provost, Venture Development Center William Brah william.brah 7723
Assistant Dean, Graduate Marketing, Recruitment, Admissions & Retention Michael Alderman michael.alderman 6289
Director, Financial Management for Research & Graduate Studies Paul Mullane paul.mullane 7879

RESEARCH INSTITUTES & CENTERS

DIRECTORS

   
Institute for Asian-American Studies Paul Watanabe paul.watanabe 5652
Center for Social Development & Education Gary Siperstein gary.siperstein 7250
Center for Survey Research Trent Buskirk trent.buskirk 7700
Gaston Institute Lorna Rivera lorna.rivera 5790
Trotter Institute Barbara Lewis barbara.lewis 5880
Urban Harbors Institute Jack Wiggin jack.wiggin 5570
William Joiner Institute Thomas Kane thomas.kane 5850

HEALEY LIBRARY

Interim Dean of University Libraries Joanne Riley joanne.riley 5916
Associate Dean, Instructional and Information Studies Program Hsinliang (Oliver) Chen hsinliang.chen 7304
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance Paula Ayers paula.ayers 5917

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Vice Provost and Chief Information Officer Robert Weir bob.weir 5410
Assistant Chief Information Officer, Client Services & Educational Technology Apurva Mehta apurva.mehta 5952
Assistant Vice Provost, Communication and Infrastructure Services Wil Khouri wil.khouri 6232
Assistant Vice Provost, Application Services Linda Modiste linda.modiste 5273
Assistant Vice Provost, Client Services Barbara Goguen barbara.goguen 4413
Assistant Vice Provost, Business Operations Marsha Florio marsha.florio 7917
Information Security Officer Wil Khouri wil.khouri 6232
Director, Research Computing Jeffrey Dusenberry jeff.dusenberry 5288

Connect

  • Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
    617.287.5600
    provostcomm@umb.edu