Academics

Department Chairs and Administrators

Please note: changes to the list below and PDF document are made prior to the start of each semester. If you have any questions, please contact ProvostComm@umb.edu.

Spring 2015

617 287 + ext.

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

 
Provost and Vice Chancellor Winston Langley winston.langley 7 5600  
Vice Provost and Director, Global Programs Schuyler Korban schuyler.korban 7 5586  
Associate Provost Kristine Alster kristine.alster 7 5638  
Associate Provost, Assessment and Planning Peter Langer peter.langer 7 5611  
Associate Provost & Dean of Faculty Emily McDermott emily.mcdermott 7 5713  
Associate Vice Chancellor Anita Miller anita.miller 7 5606  
Acquisitions Editor Brian Halley brian.halley 7 5610  
Director, Institutional Research and Policy Studies Jennifer Brown jennifer.brown 7 5420  
Special Assistant to the Provost, Financial Affairs Alison Nieto alison.nieto

7 5604

 

COLLEGE OF ADVANCING AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

 
Dean Philip DiSalvio philip.disalvio 7 7926  
Associate Dean Dennis Maxey dennis.maxey 7 7960  
Assistant Dean Burton Holmes burton.holmes 7 7908  
Director, Administrative Services Joseph Lally joseph.lally 7 7920  
Director, Addictions Counselor Education Program William Carlo william.carlo 7 5489  
Director, Applied Behavior Analysis Program Mary Brady mary.brady 7 7254  
Director, Broadening Advanced Technological Education Connections (BATEC) Deborah Boisvert deborah.boisvert 7 7295  
Director, Center for Innovation & Excellence in eLearning Alan Girelli alan.girelli 7 7578  
Director, China Program Center Wanli Hu wanli.hu 7 7292  
Director, Corporate and Professional Training and Outreach Olga Lauterbach olga.lauterbach 7 7298  
Director, Credit Programs Wanda Willard wanda.willard 7 7874  
Director, Critical and Creative Thinking Program Peter Taylor peter.taylor 7 7636  
Director of Communications, Marketing, and Strategic Alliances TBD      
Director of Finance Michael Tull michael.tull 7 7954  
Director, International and University Prep Programs Stanley Wanucha stanley.wanucha 7 7941  
Director, Strategic Initiatives Sandra Blanchette sandra.blanchette 7 5534  
Coordinator, International Development Program Michael Keating michael.keating 7 5550  
Acting Director, Instructional Design Program Judith Erdman judith.erdman 7 5980  
Coordinator, Center for Technical Education Richard McLaughlin richard.mclaughlin 7 7919  
Manager, Online Education Jason Campos jason.campos 7 7912  
Operations Director, BATEC   Louis Piazza louis.piazza 7 3202  
Director, Global Post-Disaster Studies and Emergency Management Programs Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7 7112  
Coordinator, Global Affairs Program TBD      

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS (CLA)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean David Terkla david.terkla 7 6505  
Associate Dean Stephanie Hartwell stephanie.hartwell 7 6529  
Associate Dean Pratima Prasad pratima.prasad 7 6506  
Assistant Dean/Finance Kim Ho kim.ho 7 6946  
Assistant Dean/Personnel Lisa Greggo lisa.greggo 7 6508  
Assistant Dean/Scheduling & Special Projects Diann Simmons diann.simmons 7 6507  
Director, CLA FIRST Joyce Morgan joyce.morgan 7 7897  
Director, Major Advising Ana Frega ana.frega 7 5347  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Africana Studies Robert Johnson robert.johnson 7 6794  
American Studies Lynnell Thomas lynnell.thomas 7 6818  
Anthropology Tim Sieber tim.sieber 7 6853  
Applied Linguistics Charles Meyer charles.meyer 7 5760  
Art Ann Torke ann.torke 7 5730  
Asian Studies Terry Kawashima terry.kawashima 7 6125  
Classics Kenneth Rothwell kenneth.rothwell 7 6123  
Communication Jennifer Gregg jennifer.gregg 7 6770  
Economics Julie Nelson julie.nelson 7 6950  
English Cheryl Nixon cheryl nixon 7 6707  
History Roberta Wollons roberta.wollons 7 6860  
Latin American & Iberian Studies Maria Cisterna-Gold maria.cisterna 7 7555  
Modern Languages, Literatures & Cultures Alexander DesForges alex.desforges 7 7657  
Performing Arts Steve Schwartz steve.schwartz 7 5646  
Philosophy Mickaella Perina mickaella.perina 7 6538  
Political Science Erin O'Brien erin.obrien 7 6939  
Psychology Jane Adams jane.adams 7 6359  
Sociology Russell Schutt russell.schutt 7 6253  
Women's and Gender Studies Elora Chowdhury elora.chowdhury 7 6764  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Creative Writing Jill McDonough jill.mcdonough 7 6700  
Criminal Justice Xiagang Deng xiaogang.deng 7 6250  
English as a Second Language Vivian Zamel vivian.zamel 7 6700  
International Relations TBD      
Irish Studies Thomas O'Grady thomas.ogrady 7 6700  
Latino Studies Lorna Rivera lorna.rivera 7 7388  
Native American & Indigenous Studies Joshua Reid joshua.reid 7 6860  
CENTERS DIRECTORS      
Center on Gender, Security, and Human Rights Carol Cohn carol.cohn 7 6412  
Labor Resource Center Susan Moir susan.moir 7 7377  

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION & HUMAN DEVELOPMENT (CEHD)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Michael Middleton michael.middleton 7 7600  
Associate Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski 7 7592  
Assistant Dean Denise McNair denise.mcnair 7 7672  
Director, Student Services Center Aimee D'Avignon aimee.davignon 7 7492  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Counseling & School Psychology Takuya Minami takuya.minami 7 7619  
Curriculum & Instruction Lisa Gonsalves lisa.gonsalves 7 7591  
Leadership in Education Wenfan Yan wenfan.yan 7 4873  
CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC) Arthur Eisenkraft arthur.eisenkraft 7 7652  
Institute for Learning & Teaching Michael Middleton michael.middleton 7 7600  
NE Resource Ctr. for Higher Education (NERCHE) John Saltmarsh john.saltmarsh 7 7744  
Institute for International & Comparative Education Wenfan Yan wenfan.yan 7 4873  

COLLEGE OF MANAGEMENT (CM)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Jorge Haddock jorge.haddock 7 7702  
Sr. Associate Dean Martin Calkins martin.calkins 7 7031  
Associate Dean, Graduate Programs    David Levy david.levy 7 7860  
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance Domingo Altarejos domingo.altarejos 7 7752  
Director of Academic Partnerships Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7 7673  
         
Director, Business Development and Communications Andrea Reardon andrea.reardon 7 7708  
Operations Manager Epiphania Godinho epiphania.godinho TBD  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Accounting & Finance Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya

7 7854

 
Management & Marketing Alessia Contu alessia.contu

7 7764

 
Management Science & Information Systems Peng Xu peng.xu 7 2882  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
PhD Program Maureen Scully maureen.scully 7 7864  
PhD Program Administrator Richard Wong richard.wong 7 7726  
Associate Director, Graduate Programs Tara Norton tara.norton 7 7855  
Director, Undergraduate Program Amy Daubney Mei amy.mei 7 7762  
Director, Writing Program Kathryn Archard kathryn.archard 7 7685  
CENTERS DIRECTORS      
Center for Collaborative Leadership (CCL) Lisa DeAngelis lisa.deangelis 7 3893  
Center for Sustainable Enterprise and Regional Competitiveness (SERC) David Levy / Vesela Veleva david.levy / vesela.veleva 7 7860 7 6293  
Entrepreneurship Center (EC) George Kassas george.kassas 7 7758  
Financial Services Forum Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7 7854  
Greater Boston Manufacturing Partnership Bruce Hamilton bhamilton@gbmp.org 7 7630  
Small Business Development Center Mark Allio mark.allio 7 7751  

COLLEGE OF NURSING & HEALTH SCIENCES (CNHS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Anahid Kulwicki anahid.kulwicki 7 3839  
Associate Dean Marion Winfrey marion.winfrey 7 7544  
Associate Dean for Research (Interim) Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7 7279  
Assistant Dean Christine Murphy christine.murphy 7 7517  
Director, Student Services Karen Jimmons Gales karen.gales 7 7582  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Nursing Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 7 7500  
Exercise and Health Science (Interim) Emily McDermott emily.mcdermott 7 5713  
CNHS PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
EHS Undergraduate Program Dana Commesso dana.commesso 7 7520  
EHS Graduate Program Richard Fleming richard.fleming 7 7500  
Nursing PhD Program Haeok Lee haeok.lee 7 5071  
Masters Program  Patricia Halon pat.halon 7 7569  
Doctor of Nursing Practice Margaret McAllister

margaret.mcallister

7 7543  
Undergraduate Pre-Licensure Nursing JoAnn Mulready-Shick joann.mulreadyshick 7 7524  
Post MA Certificate Margaret McAllister / Michelle Ferguson margaret.mcallister / michelle.ferguson 7 7543 7 7500  
RN to BS Nursing Diane Shea diane.shea 7 7607  
Accelerated Baccalaureate in Nursing JoAnn Mulready-Shick joann.mulreadyshick 7 7524  
CENTERS  
Center for Clinical Education & Research Judy Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7 7505  
GoKids Boston Anahid Kulwicki anahid.kulwicki 7 3839  

COLLEGE OF PUBLIC & COMMUNITY SERVICE (CPCS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Interim Dean Anna Madison anna.madison 7 7242  
Business Manager Regine Paul regine.paul 7 7381  
CPCS PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Gerontology Nina Silverstein nina.silverstein 7 7317  
Human Services Richard Hung (Coordinator)

richard.hung

7 7378  
Human Services Graduate Program Sylvia Mignon sylvia.mignon 7 7384  
Community Studies/Online Richard Hung richard.hung 7 7378  

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS (CSM)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 7 5777  
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs William Hagar william.hagar 7 5776  
Associate Dean for Student Success Marietta Schwartz marietta.schwartz 7 6146  
Assistant Dean/Projects and Communications Ebru Korbek-Erdogmus ebru.korbek-erdogmus 7 5727  
Assistant Dean/Administration and Finance Dorothy Baxter dorothy.baxter 7 6450  
Director, Strategic Initiatives Alexander Gritsinin alexander.gritsinin 7 5936  
SCHOOL FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

 

     
Dean Robyn Hannigan robyn.hannigan 7 7440  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Biology Richard Kesseli rick.kesseli 7 6600  
Chemistry Robert Carter robert.carter 7 6136  
Computer Science Peter Fejer fejer@cs.umb.edu 7 6453  
Engineering Greg Sun greg.sun 7 6432  
Mathematics Eric Grinberg eric.grinberg 7 6460  
Physics Bala Sundaram bala.sundaram 7 6050  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Biobehavioral Studies Alexia Pollack alexia.pollack 7 6618  
Biochemistry Jason Evans jason.evans 7 6149  
Environmental Studies Alan Christian alan.christian 7 6639  
CENTER DIRECTOR      
Center for Environmental Health, Science and Technology Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 7 5777  
Center for Green Chemistry Wei Zhang wei2.zhang 7 6147  
Center for Personalized Cancer Therapy Jill Macoska jill.macoska 7 5783  

HONOR'S COLLEGE

 
Dean Rajini Srikanth rajini.srikanth 7 5521  
Associate Dean Megan Rokop megan.rokop 7 5520  

MCCORMACK GRADUATE SCHOOL OF POLICY AND GLOBAL STUDIES (MGS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Interim Dean Ira Jackson ira.jackson 7 4838  
Associate Dean Connie Chan connie.chan 7 5550  
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs (and Student Affairs) Justin Maher justin.maher 7 5553  
Assistant Dean for Budget and Administration TBD      
DEPARTMENTS & PROGRAMS CHAIRS      
Public Policy and Public Affairs Christine Brenner christine.brenner 7 6938  
Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance Darren Kew darren.kew 7 7428  
Gerontology Jeffrey Burr jeffrey.burr 7 7318  
CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Democracy Lab Ira Jackson ira.jackson 7 4838  
Center for Community Democracy and Democratic Literacy Judith Kurland judith.kurland 7 5550  
Center for Governance and Sustainability Maria Ivanova / Craig Murphy maria.ivanova / craig.murphy 7 7263 7 7489  
Center for Peace, Democracy and Development Darren Kew darren.kew 7 7428  
Center for Rebuilding Sustainable Communities after Disasters Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7 7112  
Center for Social and Demographic Research on Aging Jan Mutchler jan.mutchler 7 7321  
Center for Social Policy Arthur MacEwan arthur.macewan 7 5565  
Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy Ann Bookman ann.bookman 7 5541  
Collaborative Institute for Oceans, Climate, and Security Robyn Hannigan /     Ira Jackson robyn.hannigan / ira.jackson 7 5550 7 4838  
Collins Center for Public Management Stephen McGoldrick stephen.mcgoldrick 7 4022  
The Mobility Project Neil Silverston neil.silverston 7 7162  
Gerontology Institute Len Fishman len.fishman 7 7327  
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) Wichian Rojanawon wichian.rojanawon 7 7090  
Pension Action Center Jeanne Medeiros jeanne.medeiros 7 7332  

SCHOOL OF GLOBAL INCLUSION & SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

 
Dean William Kiernan william.kiernan 7 4311  
Assistant Dean Sheila Fesko sheila.fesko 7 4365  
Sr. Manager of Finance & Admin Lori Gordon lori.gordon 7 4313  

ACADEMIC SUPPORT SERVICES & UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

 
Vice Provost Joan Becker joan.becker 7 5840  
Associate Vice Provost Jeanmarie Spinetti jeanmarie.spinetti 7 5877  
Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies Maura Mast maura.mast 7 6553  
Director, Academic Support Services Mark Pawlak mark.pawlak 7 6557  
Director, Career Services and Internships Mark Kenyon mark.kenyon 7 5519  
Director, Ross Center for Disability Services Ginny Perelson virginia.perelson 7 7432  
Director, University Advising Center Gail Stubbs gail.stubbs 7 5500  
Director, Writing Assessment Harry Makrinos harry.makrinos 7 6330  
Director, Undergraduate Studies Michael Quashigah michael.quashigah 7 6338  

GRADUATE STUDIES/RESEARCH

 
Vice Provost for Research and Strategic Initiatives & Dean of Graduate Studies Zong-Guo Xia zongguo.xia 7 5608  
Associate Vice Provost for Research & Graduate Studies Laura Hayman laura.hayman 7 7504  
Associate Vice Provost & Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Matthew Meyer matthew.meyer 7 5372  
Assistant Vice Provost, Venture Development Center William Brah william.brah 7 7723  
Associate Dean, Student and Academic Matters Rita Nethersole rita.nethersole 7 5718  
Assistant Dean, Graduate Marketing, Recruitment, Admissions & Retention Michael Alderman michael.alderman 7 6289  
Director, Communications for Research & Graduate Studies James Mortenson james.mortenson 7 5614  
Director, Financial Management for Research & Graduate Studies Paul Mullane paul.mullane 7 7879  

RESEARCH INSTITUTES & CENTERS

DIRECTORS

     
Institute for Asian-American Studies Paul Watanabe paul.watanabe 7 5652  
Center for Social Development & Education Gary Siperstein gary.siperstein 7 7250  
Center for Survey Research Lee Hargraves lee.hargraves 7 7200  
Gaston Institute Maria Idali Torres idali.torres 7 5790  
Institute for New England Native American Studies (INENAS) Cedric Woods cedric.woods 7 5784  
Trotter Institute Barbara Lewis barbara.lewis 7 5880  
Urban Harbors Institute Jack Wiggin jack.wiggin 7 5570  
William Joiner Institute Thomas Kane thomas.kane 7 5850  

HEALEY LIBRARY

 
Dean of University Libraries Daniel Ortiz daniel.ortiz 7 5916  
Associate University Librarian Javier Crespo javier.crespo 7 5923  
Business Operations and Resource Manager Sallyann Lopez sallyann.lopez 7 5917  

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

 
Interim Vice Provost and Chief Information Officer Apurva Mehta apurva.mehta 7 5952  
Assistant Vice Provost for Client Services Apurva Mehta apurva.mehta 7 5952  
Assistant Vice Provost for Communication and Infrastructure Services Wil Khouri wil.khouri 7 6232  
Assistant Vice Provost for Application Services Linda Modiste linda.modiste 7 5273  
Director, Distance Learning Video Production Center John Jessoe john.jessoe 7 5981  

Connect

  • Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
    617.287.5600
    provost@umb.edu