Academics

Department Chairs and Administrators

Please note: changes to the list below and PDF document are made prior to the start of each semester. If you have any questions, please contact ProvostComm@umb.edu.

Fall 2016

617 287 + ext.

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

 
Provost and Vice Chancellor Winston Langley winston.langley 7 5600  
Vice Provost and Director, Global Programs Schuyler Korban schuyler.korban 7 5586  
Vice Provost, Economic Planning/Resources and Special Projects Ira Jackson ira.jackson 7 4838  
Associate Provost, Assessment and Planning Peter Langer peter.langer 7 5611  
Associate Provost & Dean of Faculty Emily McDermott emily.mcdermott 7 5713  
Associate Provost, Institutional Research, Assessment, and Planning James J. Hughes jamesj.hughes 7 5420  
Associate Vice Chancellor Anita Miller anita.miller 7 5606  
Special Assistant to the Provost Kristine Alster kristine.alster 7 5638  
Acquisitions Editor Brian Halley brian.halley 7 5610  

COLLEGE OF ADVANCING AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

 
Dean Philip DiSalvio philip.disalvio 7 7926  
Associate Dean Dennis Maxey dennis.maxey 7 7960  
Associate Dean, Learning, Design, and Technology Wendy Shapiro wendy.shapiro 7 5984  
Assistant Dean, Personnel &Administrative Services Joseph Lally joseph.lally 7 7920  
Assistant Dean, Finance and Business Intelligence Michael Tull michael.tull 7 7954  
Director, Addictions Counselor Education Program William Carlo william.carlo 7 5489  
Director, Applied Behavior Analysis Program Mary Brady mary.brady 7 7254  
Director, Broadening Advanced Technological Education Connections (BATEC) Deborah Boisvert deborah.boisvert 7 7295  
Director, Center for Innovation & Excellence in eLearning Alan Girelli alan.girelli 7 7578  
Director, China Program Center Wanli Hu wanli.hu 7 7292  
Director, Communications, Marketing, and Strategic Alliances Cedric Sinclair cedric.sinclair 7 7937  
Director, Corporate and Professional Training and Outreach Olga Lauterbach olga.lauterbach 7 7298  
Director, Credit Programs Wanda Willard wanda.willard 7 7874  
Director, Critical and Creative Thinking Program Peter Taylor peter.taylor 7 7636  
Director, Global Post-Disaster Studies and Emergency Management Programs Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7 7112  
Director, Instructional Design Program Judith Erdman judith.erdman 7 5980  
Director, International and University Prep Programs Stanley Wanucha stanley.wanucha 7 7941  
Director, Strategic Initiatives Sandra Blanchette sandra.blanchette 7 5534  
Coordinator, Center for Technical Education Richard McLaughlin richard.mclaughlin 7 7919  
Coordinator, Global Affairs and International Development Programs Denise Sharif denise.sharif 7 7918  
Manager, Online Education Jason Campos jason.campos 7 7912  
Operations Director, BATEC   Louis Piazza louis.piazza 7 3202  

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT (CEHD)

DEAN'S OFFICE        
Interim Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski

7 7592

 
Interim Associate Dean Takuya Minami takuya.minami 7 7619  
Assistant Dean Denise McNair denise.mcnair

7 7672

 
Interim Director, Assessment, Accreditation, and Licensure Tyra Lopes-Mendes tyra.mendes 7 7669  
Director, Student Services Center Aimee D'Avignon aimee.davignon 7 7492  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Counseling & School Psychology Takuya Minami takuya.minami 7 7619  
Curriculum & Instruction Lisa Gonsalves lisa.gonsalves 7 7591  
Leadership in Education Tara Parker tara.parker 7 7728  
CEHD CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC)  Arthur Eisenkraft arthur.eisenkraft 7 7652  
Institute for Learning & Teaching Fabian Torres-Ardila fabian.torres-ardila 7 5834  
NE Resource Ctr. for Higher Education (NERCHE) John Saltmarsh john.saltmarsh 7 7744  
Institute for International & Comparative Education Wenfan Yan wenfan.yan 7 4873  

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS (CLA)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean David Terkla david.terkla 7 6505  
Associate Dean Stephanie Hartwell stephanie.hartwell 7 6529  
Associate Dean Pratima Prasad pratima.prasad 7 6506  
Assistant Dean, Finance Kim Ho kim.ho 7 6946  
Assistant Dean, Personnel Shanna O'Berry shanna.oberry 7 6508  
Assistant Dean/Scheduling & Special Projects Diann Simmons diann.simmons 7 6507  
Director, CLA FIRST Joyce Morgan joyce.morgan 7 7897  
Director, Major Advising Ana Frega ana.frega 7 5347  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Africana Studies Susan Tomlinson susan.tomlinson 7 6706  
American Studies Aaron Lecklider aaron.lecklider 7 6772  
Anthropology Stephen Silliman stephen.silliman 7 6853  
Applied Linguistics Panagiota Gounari panagiota.gounari 7 5760  
Art Margaret Hart margaret.hart 7 5730  
Asian Studies Terry Kawashima terry.kawashima 7 6125  
Classics and Religious Studies Kenneth Rothwell kenneth.rothwell 7 6123  
Communication Jennifer Gregg jennifer.gregg 7 6770  
Economics Adugna Lemi adugna.lemi 7 6950  
English Cheryl Nixon cheryl nixon 7 6707  
History Tim Hacsi tim.hacsi 7 6860  
Latin American & Iberian Studies Nino Kebadze maria.cisterna 7 7550  
Modern Languages, Literatures & Cultures Alexander DesForges alex.desforges 7 7657  
Performing Arts David Pruett david.pruett 7 5646  
Philosophy Christopher Zurn christopher.zurn 7 7800  
Political Science Erin O'Brien erin.obrien 7 6939  
Psychology Jane Adams jane.adams 7 6376  
Sociology Paul Benson paul.benson 7 6269  
Women's and Gender Studies Elora Chowdhury elora.chowdhury 7 6764  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Creative Writing Askold Melnyczuk askold.melnyczuk 7 6700  
Criminal Justice Xiaogang Deng xiaogang.deng 7 6250  
English as a Second Language Vivian Zamel vivian.zamel 7 6700  
Human Services Richard Hung richard.hung 7 7378  
  Joan Arches joan.arches 7 7288  
Human Services Graduate Program Sylvia Mignon sylvia.mignon 7 7384  
International Relations Paul Kowert paul.kowert 7 6942  
Irish Studies Thomas O'Grady thomas.ogrady 7 6700  
Latino Studies Lorna Rivera lorna.rivera 7 7388  
Native American & Indigenous Studies Christopher Fung christopher.fung 7 6860  
CENTERS DIRECTORS      
Center on Gender, Security, and Human Rights Carol Cohn carol.cohn 7 6412  
Labor Resource Center Steve Striffler steve.striffler 7 7377  

COLLEGE OF MANAGEMENT (CM)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Jorge Haddock jorge.haddock 7 7702  
Sr. Associate Dean Martin Calkins martin.calkins 7 7031  
Associate Dean, Graduate Programs    James Grant james.grant 7 7713  
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance Domingo Altarejos domingo.altarejos 7 7752  
Director of Academic Partnerships Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7 7673  
Director, Grants David Levy david.levy 7 7752  
Director, Business Development and Communications Andrea Reardon andrea.reardon 7 7708  
Operations Manager Epiphania Godinho epiphania.godinho 7 7747  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Accounting & Finance Kiran Verma kiran.verma

7 7861

 
Management Alessia Contu alessia.contu

7 7764

 
Management Science & Information Systems Peng Xu peng.xu 7 7882  
Marketing Raymond Liu raymond.liu 7 7739  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
PhD Program Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7 7673  
Director, Undergraduate Program Amy Daubney Mei amy.mei 7 7762  
Director of Graduate Enrollment Programs Barbara Benoit barbara.benoit 7 7701  
Director, On-Line Programs Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7 7854  
Director, Writing Program Kathryn Archard kathryn.archard 7 7685  
CENTERS DIRECTORS      
Center for Collaborative Leadership (CCL) Lisa DeAngelis lisa.deangelis 7 3893  
Center for Sustainable Enterprise and Regional Competitiveness (SERC) David Levy david.levy 7 7860  
Entrepreneurship Center (EC) Erin McCormick erin.mccormick    
Financial Services Forum Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7 7854  
MA Small Business Development Center (MSBDC) Evelyn Darling evelyn.darling 7 7750  

COLLEGE OF NURSING & HEALTH SCIENCES (CNHS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Interim Dean Marion Winfrey marion.winfrey 7 7544  
Associate Dean for Research (Interim) Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7 7279  
Assistant Dean Christine Murphy christine.murphy 7 7517  
Director, Student Services Karen Jimmons Gales karen.gales 7 7582  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Nursing Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 7 6731  
Exercise and Health Science (Interim) Jessica Whiteley jessica.whiteley 7 3807  
CNHS PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
EHS Undergraduate Program Dana Commesso dana.commesso 7 6239  
EHS Graduate Program Richard Fleming richard.fleming 7 5569  
Nursing PhD Program Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 7 6731  
Masters Program  Patricia Halon pat.halon 7 7569  
Doctor of Nursing Practice Susan Parker

susan.parker

7 7605  
Undergraduate Pre-Licensure Nursing Judith Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7 7505  
Post MA Certificate Mary Fischer mary.fischer 7 7500  
RN to BS Nursing Christine Salvucci christine.salvucci 7 7500  
Accelerated Baccalaureate in Nursing Judith Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7 7505  
CENTERS  
Center for Clinical Education & Research Jennifer Mardin-Small jennifer.mardin 7 7505  
GoKids Boston Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7 7279  

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS (CSM)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 7 5777  
Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs William Hagar william.hagar 7 5776  
Associate Dean, Student Success Marietta Schwartz marietta.schwartz 7 6146  
Assistant Dean/Projects and Communications Ebru Korbek-Erdogmus ebru.korbek-erdogmus 7 5727  
Assistant Dean/Administration and Finance Caitlin McGovern caitlin.mcgovern 7 6904  
Director, Strategic Initiatives Alexander Gritsinin alexander.gritsinin 7 5936  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Biology Richard Kesseli rick.kesseli 7 6627  
Chemistry Robert Carter robert.carter 7 6193  
Computer Science Peter Fejer peter.fejer 7 6453  
Engineering Greg Sun greg.sun 7 6432  
Mathematics Eric Grinberg eric.grinberg 7 6460  
Physics Bala Sundaram bala.sundaram 7 6050  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Biobehavioral Studies Alexia Pollack alexia.pollack 7 6618  
Biochemistry Jason Evans jason.evans 7 6149  
Environmental Studies Alan Christian alan.christian 7 6639  
CENTER DIRECTOR      
Center for Environmental Health, Science and Technology Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 7 5777  
Center for Green Chemistry Wei Zhang wei2.zhang 7 6147  
Center for Personalized Cancer Therapy Jill Macoska jill.macoska 7 5783  

HONORS COLLEGE

 
Dean Rajini Srikanth rajini.srikanth 7 5521  
Associate Dean Megan Rokop megan.rokop 7 5520  
Assistant Dean Mike Metzger michael.metzger 7 5564  

MCCORMACK GRADUATE SCHOOL OF POLICY AND GLOBAL STUDIES (MGS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean David Cash david.cash 7 4838  
Associate Dean Connie Chan connie.chan 7 5550  
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs (and Student Affairs) Justin Maher justin.maher 7 5553  
Assistant Dean for Budget and Administration Lisa Greggo lisa.greggo 7 5773  
DEPARTMENTS & PROGRAMS CHAIRS      
Public Policy and Public Affairs Christine Brenner christine.brenner 7 6977  
Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance Samuel Barkin samuel.barkin 7 4845  
Gerontology Jeffrey Burr jeffrey.burr 7 7318  
CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Center for Governance and Sustainability Maria Ivanova maria.ivanova 7 7263  
Center for Peace, Democracy and Development Darren Kew darren.kew 7 7428  
Center for Rebuilding Sustainable Communities after Disasters Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7 7112  
Center for Social and Demographic Research on Aging Jan Mutchler jan.mutchler 7 7321  
Center for Social Policy Susan Crandall susan.crandall 7 5565  
Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy Ann Bookman ann.bookman 7 5541  
Collins Center for Public Management Stephen McGoldrick stephen.mcgoldrick 7 4022  
Gerontology Institute Len Fishman len.fishman 7 7327  
Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration (MOPC) Susan Jeghelian susan.jeghelian 7 4040  
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) Wichian Rojanawon wichian.rojanawon 7 7090  
Pension Action Center Jeanne Medeiros jeanne.medeiros 7 7332  

SCHOOL FOR THE ENVIRONMENT

 
Dean Robyn Hannigan robyn.hannigan 7 7440  
Associate Dean William Robinson william.robinson 7 7456  
Community Development Program Alan Christian alan.christian 7 6639  

SCHOOL OF GLOBAL INCLUSION & SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT

 
Dean William Kiernan william.kiernan 7 4311  
Associate Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski 7 7592  
Assistant Dean Sheila Fesko sheila.fesko 7 4365  
Sr. Manager of Finance & Admin Lori Gordon lori.gordon 7 4313  

ACADEMIC SUPPORT SERVICES & UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

 
Vice Provost Joan Becker joan.becker 7 5840  
Associate Vice Provost Jeanmarie Spinetti jeanmarie.spinetti 7 5877  
Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies Karen Ricciardi karen.ricciardi 7 6553  
Associate Vice Provost, University Advising Center Gail Stubbs gail.stubbs 7 5500  
Director, Academic Support Services Michael LeBlanc michael.leblanc 7 6557  
Director, Career Services and Internships Mark Kenyon mark.kenyon 7 5519  
Director, Ross Center for Disability Services Ginny Perelson virginia.perelson 7 7432  
Interim Director, Writing Assessment Harry Makrinos harry.makrinos 7 6330  

RESEARCH/GRADUATE STUDIES

 
Vice Provost for Research and Strategic Initiatives & Dean of Graduate Studies Zong-Guo Xia zongguo.xia 7 5608  
Associate Vice Provost for Research & Graduate Studies Laura Hayman laura.hayman 7 7504  
Associate Vice Provost & Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Matthew Meyer matthew.meyer 7 5372  
Assistant Vice Provost, Venture Development Center William Brah william.brah 7 7723  
Associate Dean, Student and Academic Affairs Rita Nethersole rita.nethersole 7 5718  
Assistant Dean, Graduate Marketing, Recruitment, Admissions & Retention Michael Alderman michael.alderman 7 6289  
Director, Financial Management for Research & Graduate Studies Paul Mullane paul.mullane 7 7879  

RESEARCH INSTITUTES & CENTERS

DIRECTORS

     
Institute for Asian-American Studies Paul Watanabe paul.watanabe 7 5652  
Center for Social Development & Education Gary Siperstein gary.siperstein 7 7250  
Center for Survey Research Trent Buskirk trent.buskirk 7 7700  
Gaston Institute Maria Idali Torres idali.torres 7 5790  
Institute for New England Native American Studies (INENAS) Cedric Woods cedric.woods 7 5784  
Trotter Institute Barbara Lewis barbara.lewis 7 5880  
Urban Harbors Institute Jack Wiggin jack.wiggin 7 5570  
William Joiner Institute Thomas Kane thomas.kane 7 5850  

HEALEY LIBRARY

 
Dean of University Libraries Daniel Ortiz daniel.ortiz 7 5916  
Business Operations and Resource Manager Sallyann Lopez sallyann.lopez 7 5917  

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

 
Vice Provost and Chief Information Officer Robert Weir bob.weir 7 5410  
Assistant Chief Information Officer, Client Services & Educational Technology Apurva Mehta apurva.mehta 7 5952  
Assistant Vice Provost, Communication and Infrastructure Services Wil Khouri wil.khouri 7 6232  
Assistant Vice Provost, Application Services Linda Modiste linda.modiste 7 5273  
Director, Distance Learning Video Production Center John Jessoe john.jessoe 7 5981  
Information Security Officer (interim) Wil Khouri wil.khouri 7 6232  
Director, Research Computing Jeffrey Dusenberry jeff.dusenberry 7 5288  

Connect

  • Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
    617.287.5600
    provostcomm@umb.edu