Academics

Department Chairs and Administrators

Please note: changes to the list below are made prior to the start of each semester. If you have any questions, please contact ProvostComm@umb.edu.

Spring 2017

617 287 + ext.

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

 
Provost and Vice Chancellor Winston Langley winston.langley 5600  
Vice Provost and Director, Global Programs Schuyler Korban schuyler.korban 5586  
Vice Provost, Economic Planning/Resources and Special Projects Ira Jackson ira.jackson 4838  
Associate Provost, Assessment and Planning Peter Langer peter.langer 5611  
Associate Provost & Dean of Faculty Emily McDermott emily.mcdermott 5713  
Associate Provost, Institutional Research, Assessment, and Planning James J. Hughes jamesj.hughes 5420  
Associate Vice Chancellor Anita Miller anita.miller 5606  
Assistant Vice Chancellor Thomas Miller thomas.miller 5604  
Special Assistant to the Provost Kristine Alster kristine.alster 5638  
Acquisitions Editor Brian Halley brian.halley 5610  

COLLEGE OF ADVANCING AND PROFESSIONAL STUDIES

 
Dean Philip DiSalvio philip.disalvio 7926  
Associate Dean TBD      
Associate Dean, Learning, Design, and Technology Wendy Shapiro wendy.shapiro 5984  
Assistant Dean, Personnel &Administrative Services Joseph Lally joseph.lally 7920  
Assistant Dean, Finance and Business Intelligence Michael Tull michael.tull 7954  
Director, Addictions Counselor Education Program William Carlo william.carlo 5489  
Director, Applied Behavior Analysis Program Mary Brady mary.brady 7254  
Director, Broadening Advanced Technological Education Connections (BATEC) Deborah Boisvert deborah.boisvert 7295  
Director, Center for Innovation & Excellence in eLearning Alan Girelli alan.girelli 7578  
Director, China Program Center Wanli Hu wanli.hu 7292  
Director, Communications, Marketing, and Strategic Alliances Cedric Sinclair cedric.sinclair 7937  
Director, Corporate and Professional Training and Outreach Olga Lauterbach olga.lauterbach 7298  
Director, Credit Programs Wanda Willard wanda.willard 7874  
Director, Critical and Creative Thinking Program Peter Taylor peter.taylor 7636  
Director, Global Post-Disaster Studies and Emergency Management Programs Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7112  
Director, Instructional Design Program Judith Erdman judith.erdman 5980  
Director, International and University Prep Programs Stanley Wanucha stanley.wanucha 7941  
Coordinator, Center for Technical Education Richard McLaughlin richard.mclaughlin 7919  
Coordinator, Global Affairs and International Development Programs Denise Sharif denise.sharif 7918  
Manager, Online Education Jason Campos jason.campos 7912  
Operations Director, BATEC   Louis Piazza louis.piazza 3202  

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT (CEHD)

DEAN'S OFFICE        
Interim Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski

7592

 
Interim Associate Dean Takuya Minami takuya.minami 7619  
Assistant Dean Denise McNair denise.mcnair

7672

 
Director, Assessment, Accreditation, and Licensure Tyra Lopes-Mendes tyra.mendes 7669  
Director, Student Services Center Aimee D'Avignon aimee.davignon 7492  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Counseling & School Psychology Takuya Minami takuya.minami 7619  
Curriculum & Instruction Lisa Gonsalves lisa.gonsalves 7591  
Leadership in Education Tara Parker tara.parker 7728  
CEHD CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Center of Science and Math in Context (COSMIC)  Arthur Eisenkraft arthur.eisenkraft 7652  
Institute for Learning & Teaching Fabian Torres-Ardila fabian.torres-ardila 5834  
Institute for International & Comparative Education Wenfan Yan wenfan.yan 4873  

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS (CLA)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean David Terkla david.terkla 6505  
Associate Dean Stephanie Hartwell stephanie.hartwell 6529  
Associate Dean Pratima Prasad pratima.prasad 6506  
Assistant Dean, Finance Kim Ho kim.ho 6946  
Assistant Dean, Personnel Shanna O'Berry shanna.oberry 6508  
Assistant Dean/Scheduling & Special Projects Diann Simmons diann.simmons 6507  
Director, CLA FIRST Joyce Morgan joyce.morgan 7897  
Director, Major Advising Ana Frega ana.frega 5347  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Africana Studies Susan Tomlinson susan.tomlinson 6706  
American Studies Aaron Lecklider aaron.lecklider 6772  
Anthropology Stephen Silliman stephen.silliman 6853  
Applied Linguistics Panagiota Gounari panagiota.gounari 5760  
Art Margaret Hart margaret.hart 5730  
Asian Studies Terry Kawashima terry.kawashima 6125  
Classics and Religious Studies Kenneth Rothwell kenneth.rothwell 6123  
Communication Jennifer Gregg jennifer.gregg 6770  
Economics Adugna Lemi adugna.lemi 6950  
English Cheryl Nixon cheryl nixon 6707  
History Tim Hacsi tim.hacsi 6860  
Latin American & Iberian Studies Nino Kebadze nino.kebadze 7550  
Modern Languages, Literatures & Cultures Claudia Esposito claudia.esposito 7570  
Performing Arts David Pruett david.pruett 5646  
Philosophy Christopher Zurn christopher.zurn 7800  
Political Science Erin O'Brien erin.obrien 6939  
Psychology Laurel Wainwright laurel.wainwright 6376  
Sociology Paul Benson paul.benson 6269  
Women's and Gender Studies Elora Chowdhury elora.chowdhury 6764  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Cinema Studies Sarah Keller sarah.keller N/A  
Creative Writing Askold Melnyczuk askold.melnyczuk 6700  
Criminal Justice Xiaogang Deng xiaogang.deng 6250  
English as a Second Language Vivian Zamel vivian.zamel 6700  
Human Services Richard Hung richard.hung 7378  
  Joan Arches joan.arches 7288  
Human Services Graduate Program Sylvia Mignon sylvia.mignon 7384  
International Relations Paul Kowert paul.kowert 6942  
Irish Studies Thomas O'Grady thomas.ogrady 6700  
Latino Studies Lorna Rivera lorna.rivera 7388  
Native American & Indigenous Studies Christopher Fung christopher.fung 6860  
CENTERS DIRECTORS      
Center for Humanities, Culture, and Society Robert Lublin robert.lublin 5646  
Center on Gender, Security, and Human Rights Carol Cohn carol.cohn 6412  
Fiske Center Steve Mrozowski stephen.mrozowski 6842  
Labor Resource Center Steve Striffler steve.striffler 7377  

COLLEGE OF MANAGEMENT (CM)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Jorge Haddock jorge.haddock 7702  
Sr. Associate Dean Martin Calkins martin.calkins 7031  
Associate Dean, Graduate Programs    James Grant james.grant 7713  
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance Domingo Altarejos domingo.altarejos 7752  
Director of Academic Partnerships Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7673  
Director, Grants David Levy david.levy 7752  
Director, Marketing and Communications Andrea Reardon andrea.reardon 7708  
Operations Manager Epiphania Godinho epiphania.godinho 7747  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Accounting & Finance Kiran Verma kiran.verma

7861

 
Management Alessia Contu alessia.contu

7764

 
Management Science & Information Systems Peng Xu peng.xu 7882  
Marketing Raymond Liu raymond.liu 7739  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
PhD Program Atreya Chakraborty atreya.chakraborty 7673  
Director, Undergraduate Program Amy Daubney Mei amy.mei 7762  
Director of Graduate Enrollment Programs Barbara Benoit barbara.benoit 7701  
Director, Online Programs Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7854  
Director, Writing Program Kathryn Archard kathryn.archard 7685  
CENTERS DIRECTORS      
Center for Collaborative Leadership (CCL) Lisa DeAngelis lisa.deangelis 3893  
Center for Sustainable Enterprise and Regional Competitiveness (SERC) David Levy david.levy 7860  
Entrepreneurship Center (EC) Erin McCormick erin.mccormick N/A  
Financial Services Forum Arindam Bandopadhyaya arindam.bandopadhyaya 7854  
MA Small Business Development Center (MSBDC) Evelyn Darling evelyn.darling 7750  

COLLEGE OF NURSING & HEALTH SCIENCES (CNHS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Interim Dean Marion Winfrey marion.winfrey 7544  
Associate Dean for Research (Interim) Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7279  
Assistant Dean Christine Murphy christine.murphy 7517  
Director, Student Services Karen Jimmons Gales karen.gales 7582  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Nursing Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 6731  
Exercise and Health Science (Interim) Jessica Whiteley jessica.whiteley 3807  
CNHS PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
EHS Undergraduate Program Dana Commesso dana.commesso 6239  
EHS Graduate Program Richard Fleming richard.fleming 5569  
Nursing PhD Program Rosanna DeMarco rosanna.demarco 6731  
Masters Program  Patricia Halon pat.halon 7569  
Doctor of Nursing Practice Patricia Halon

pat.halon

7569  
Undergraduate Pre-Licensure Nursing Judith Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7505  
Post MA Certificate Mary Fischer mary.fischer 7500  
RN to BS Nursing Christine Salvucci christine.salvucci 7500  
Accelerated Baccalaureate in Nursing Judith Healey-Walsh judith.walsh 7505  
CENTERS  
Center for Clinical Education & Research Jennifer Mardin-Small jennifer.mardin 7505  
GoKids Boston Suzanne Leveille suzanne.leveille 7279  

COLLEGE OF PUBLIC & COMMUNITY SERVICE (CPCS)

DEAN'S OFFICE        
Interim Dean Stephanie Hartwell stephanie.hartwell 6271  

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE & MATHEMATICS (CSM)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 5777  
Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs William Hagar william.hagar 5776  
Associate Dean, Student Success Marietta Schwartz marietta.schwartz 6146  
Assistant Dean/Projects and Communications Ebru Korbek-Erdogmus ebru.korbek-erdogmus 5727  
Assistant Dean/Administration and Finance Stephanie Fernandez stephanie.fernandez 6904  
Director, Strategic Initiatives Alexander Gritsinin alexander.gritsinin 5936  
DEPARTMENTS CHAIRS      
Biology Richard Kesseli rick.kesseli 6627  
Chemistry Robert Carter robert.carter 6193  
Computer Science Peter Fejer peter.fejer 6453  
Engineering Greg Sun greg.sun 6432  
Mathematics Eric Grinberg eric.grinberg 6460  
Physics Bala Sundaram bala.sundaram 6050  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Biobehavioral Studies Alexia Pollack alexia.pollack 6618  
Biochemistry Jason Evans jason.evans 6149  
CENTER DIRECTOR      
Center for Environmental Health, Science and Technology Andrew Grosovsky andrew.grosovsky 5777  
Center for Green Chemistry Wei Zhang wei2.zhang 6147  
Center for Personalized Cancer Therapy Jill Macoska jill.macoska 5783  

HONORS COLLEGE

 
Dean Rajini Srikanth rajini.srikanth 5521  
Associate Dean Megan Rokop megan.rokop 5520  
Assistant Dean Mike Metzger michael.metzger 5564  

MCCORMACK GRADUATE SCHOOL OF POLICY AND GLOBAL STUDIES (MGS)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE  
Dean David Cash david.cash 4838  
Associate Dean Connie Chan connie.chan 5550  
Assistant Dean for Academic Programs (and Student Affairs) Justin Maher justin.maher 5553  
Assistant Dean for Budget and Administration Lisa Greggo lisa.greggo 5773  
DEPARTMENTS & PROGRAMS CHAIRS      
Public Policy and Public Affairs Christine Brenner christine.brenner 6977  
Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance Samuel Barkin samuel.barkin 4845  
Gerontology Jeffrey Burr jeffrey.burr 7318  
CENTERS & INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Center for Governance and Sustainability Maria Ivanova maria.ivanova 7263  
Center for Peace, Democracy and Development Darren Kew darren.kew 7428  
Center for Rebuilding Sustainable Communities after Disasters Adenrele Awotona adenrele.awotona 7112  
Center for Social and Demographic Research on Aging Jan Mutchler jan.mutchler 7321  
Center for Social Policy Susan Crandall susan.crandall 5565  
Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy Ann Bookman ann.bookman 5541  
Collins Center for Public Management Stephen McGoldrick stephen.mcgoldrick 4022  
Gerontology Institute Len Fishman len.fishman 7327  
Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration (MOPC) Susan Jeghelian susan.jeghelian 4040  
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) Wichian Rojanawon wichian.rojanawon 7090  
Pension Action Center Jeanne Medeiros jeanne.medeiros 7332  

SCHOOL FOR THE ENVIRONMENT (SFE)

 
DEAN'S OFFICE        
Dean Robyn Hannigan robyn.hannigan 7440  
Associate Dean William Robinson william.robinson 7456  
SFE PROGRAMS        
Urban Planning & Community Development Kenneth Reardon kenneth.reardon 7440  
  Alan Christian alan.christian 6639  
Graduate Program Ellen Douglas ellen.douglas 7437  

SCHOOL OF GLOBAL INCLUSION & SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT (SGISD)

 
Dean William Kiernan william.kiernan 4311  
Associate Dean Felicia Wilczenski felicia.wilczenski 7592  
Assistant Dean Sheila Fesko sheila.fesko 4365  
Sr. Manager of Finance & Admin Lori Gordon lori.gordon 4313  
PROGRAMS DIRECTORS      
Asian American Studies Peter Kiang peter.kiang 7614  
INSTITUTES DIRECTORS      
Institute for Community Inclusion William Kiernan william.kiernan 4311  
Institute for New England Native American Studies (INENAS) Cedric Woods cedric.woods 5784  

ACADEMIC SUPPORT SERVICES & UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

 
Vice Provost Joan Becker joan.becker 5840  
Associate Vice Provost Jeanmarie Spinetti jeanmarie.spinetti 5877  
Associate Vice Provost, Undergraduate Studies Karen Ricciardi karen.ricciardi 6553  
Assistant Vice Provost, University Advising Center Gail Stubbs gail.stubbs 5500  
Interim Director, Academic Support Services Michael LeBlanc michael.leblanc 6557  
Director, Career Services and Internships Mark Kenyon mark.kenyon 5519  
Director, Ross Center for Disability Services Ginny Perelson virginia.perelson 7432  
Associate Director, Writing Assessment Harry Makrinos harry.makrinos 6330  

RESEARCH/GRADUATE STUDIES

 
Vice Provost for Research and Strategic Initiatives & Dean of Graduate Studies Zong-Guo Xia zongguo.xia 5608  
Associate Vice Provost for Research & Graduate Studies Laura Hayman laura.hayman 7504  
Associate Vice Provost & Director, Research and Sponsored Programs Matthew Meyer matthew.meyer 5372  
Assistant Vice Provost, Venture Development Center William Brah william.brah 7723  
Assistant Dean, Graduate Marketing, Recruitment, Admissions & Retention Michael Alderman michael.alderman 6289  
Director, Financial Management for Research & Graduate Studies Paul Mullane paul.mullane 7879  

RESEARCH INSTITUTES & CENTERS

DIRECTORS

     
Institute for Asian-American Studies Paul Watanabe paul.watanabe 5652  
Center for Social Development & Education Gary Siperstein gary.siperstein 7250  
Center for Survey Research Trent Buskirk trent.buskirk 7700  
Gaston Institute Maria Idali Torres idali.torres 5790  
Trotter Institute Barbara Lewis barbara.lewis 5880  
Urban Harbors Institute Jack Wiggin jack.wiggin 5570  
William Joiner Institute Thomas Kane thomas.kane 5850  

HEALEY LIBRARY

 
Dean of University Libraries Daniel Ortiz daniel.ortiz 5916  
Associate Dean, Instructional and Information Studies Program Hsinliang (Oliver) Chen hsinliang.chen 7304  
Business Operations and Resource Manager Sallyann Lopez sallyann.lopez 5917  

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

 
Vice Provost and Chief Information Officer Robert Weir bob.weir 5410  
Assistant Chief Information Officer, Client Services & Educational Technology Apurva Mehta apurva.mehta 5952  
Assistant Vice Provost, Communication and Infrastructure Services Wil Khouri wil.khouri 6232  
Assistant Vice Provost, Application Services Linda Modiste linda.modiste 5273  
Assistant Vice Provost, Client Services Barbara Goguen barbara.goguen 4413  
Assistant Vice Provost, Business Operations Marsha Florio marsha.florio 7917  
Information Security Officer Wil Khouri wil.khouri 6232  
Director, Research Computing Jeffrey Dusenberry jeff.dusenberry 5288  

Connect

  • Office of the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
    617.287.5600
    provostcomm@umb.edu