UMass Boston

JFK and Ryan Awards

JFK Award

University of Massachusetts Boston senior Lee-Daniel Tran is the 2023 recipient of the John F. Kennedy Award for Academic Excellence—the highest honor given to UMass Boston graduates.

The award is given to the graduating senior who best exemplifies academic excellence, commitment to service, and good citizenship. Winners receive a $1,000 honorarium, a bust of John F. Kennedy, and the opportunity to speak at their commencement ceremony.

Recent JFK Award Recipients

2024: Rosita Beatriz Ramirez Ventura

2023: Lee-Daniel Tran

Ryan Award

The Ryan Award is named for John W. Ryan, who was the first chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Boston. He served from 1965 to 1968. It commemorates the first convocation of UMass Boston and recognizes excellence in the student body. The Ryan Award is given to the student who has achieved the highest cumulative average for four semesters in residence during the freshman-sophomore years. The first Ryan Award was granted in 1971.