UMass Boston


Senate Executive Committee: 

This committee shall set agenda for all Senate meetings; oversee the nomination and election of members of the Senate and Liberal Arts representatives to the Faculty Council; oversee the process of filling any vacancies in the Senate or Faculty Council; oversee voting in any College referenda; prepare the Senate agenda; solicit faculty and staff preferences of service on Senate committees; nominate candidates for Senate committee membership;  shall appoint a convener for each committee who shall call the first committee meeting and oversee the election of committee chair; serve as liaison to Senate committees and to the Dean; serve in lieu of the Senate as necessary during the summer.   The Senate Executive Committee shall be comprised of at least four persons including the Senate Faculty Chair and Secretary, who are elected at the meeting in which a new Senate is seated.

  • Maria Brinker, Philosophy - Moderator
  • Chris A. Barcelos, Womens', Gender, and Sexuality Studies
  • Shannon McHugh, Modern Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • Sommer Forrester, Performing Arts

Academic Affairs Committee:

This committee shall review and recommend all new course proposals and all proposals for changes in existing undergraduate courses and course credits.  It shall be the primary committee of the College for consideration and review of graduate and undergraduate curricular matters such as course numbering, repetition, and pass/fail grading.

Academic Affairs Committee AY22-23


  • Professor Sarah Keller, Art (2022-2024)

Faculty Representatives:

  • Assistant Professor Blaire Morseau, Anthropology (2022-2024)
  • Assistant Professor Jorge Tárrega-Garrido, Classics (2022-2023)
  • Assistant Professor John Tyson, Art (2022-2024)
  • Assistant Professor Dania Francis, Economics (2022-2023)
  • Assistant Professor Leila Davis, Economics (2022-2024) 

Collegiate Personnel Committee:

This committee shall review departmental recommendations concerning reappointment through the tenure decision year (fourth-year review), tenure, promotion to the rank of associate professor, and promotion to senior rank. Unlike other standing committees of the Senate, whose memberships are proposed by the Senate Executive Committee and approved by the full Senate, and which report and recommend to the Senate, the Collegiate Personnel Committee is jointly appointed by the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and the Senate, and makes its reports and recommendations to the Dean.

  • Luis Jimenez, Political Science 
  • Elora Chowdhury, Women’s Gender Sexuality Studies
  • Patrick Clarkin, Anthropology
  • Margaret Hart, Art
  • Sripad Motiram, Economics
  • Daniel Remein, English
  • Roberta Wollons, History

Majors, Honors, Individual Majors, and Special Programs Committee: 

This committee shall review new and amended Majors, Minors, and Special Programs in the College; shall review proposals for new or amended Centers or Institutes in CLA that implement academic and training programs, clinical or community service, or research activities that cannot ordinarily be accommodated within existing departmental structures (voted on by CLA committee members only); shall aid Department and Programs in strengthening their Honors Programs; and supervise all students undertaking individual majors, reviewing and approving individual major applications and monitoring students’ adherence to their plans of study.  The committee shall include faculty from CLA , one (non-voting) representative from Undergraduate Studies or the Student Advising Office, and one (non-voting) representative of the Registrar’s Office.

Majors, Honors, Special Programs AY22-23


  • Associate Professor Vivian Ciaramitaro, Psychology
  • Associate Professor Yumiko Inukai, Philosophy

Faculty Representatives:

  • Associate Professor Jill McDonough, English 
  • Assistant Professor Christopher Schade, Art 
  • Assistant Professor Shuai Jin, Political Science
  • Assistant Professor Brandon Miller, Communication
  • Assistant Professor Joao deSouza, Economics 
  • Assistant Professor Susana Domingo Amestoy, Latin American/Iberian Studies
  • Non-voting Representative from Undergraduate Studies or Student Advising: Tim Blackman
  • Non-voting Representative from Registrar’s Office: Karen Delaney

Budget and Planning Review Committee: 

This Committee shall make recommendations to the Senate and the Dean regarding planning, programming, and budgetary priorities.

Budget Planning and Review AY22-22


  • Associate Professor Matthew Davis, English (Fa2022-Sp2024)

Faculty Representatives:

  • Associate Professor Keren Horn, Economics
  • Assistant Professor Hugh O’Connell, English (2020-2022)
  • Associate Professor Liza McCahill, History (Fa2022-Sp2024)

Standards and Credits Committee: 

This committee shall consider grading policy and course credit; it shall consider petitions for waivers of graduation requirements; it shall review current policies regarding advanced standing and transfer credit; it shall review petitions of students wishing to be readmitted to the CLA following suspensions or dismissals; and it shall, in general, oversee the maintenance of high academic standards. The committee shall include faculty from CLA and one (non-voting) representative of the Registrar’s Office. 


  • Assistant Professor Anne Fitzpatrick, Economics (2021-2023)

Faculty Representatives:

  • Associate Professor Matt Brown (English 2022-2024)
  • Assistant Professor Jin-Ho Park, (Psych 2021-2023)
  • Assistant Professor Wenhua Shi (Art 2021-2023)
  • Assistant Professor Rishabh Kumar (Economics 2021-2023)
  • Ana Frega and Frances Van Pelt, CLA Advising (Non-Voting)
  • Kelly McLaughlin, Registrar’s Representative (Non-Voting)
  • Brenda Gordon, Undergraduate Studies Representative (Non-Voting)